Reset now full HD

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Trowa, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. Trowa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #1
    Hello Mac Rumors fourm members,

    I am having a little issue with my imac that i need to get sorted out.
    Last night was a bit tired and realised my imac was still on, due to tiredness and the screen brightness hurting my tired eyes, i held the power button on the back of the mac to turn it off.

    Woke up this morning and booted up my mac and i got a message saying that my hard disc was full. I got this mac 3 months ago and there is no way i would have filled up 1TB in that time. I'm only using it for general use atm with a slight bit of Starcraft 2.

    Anyone got any idea whats happened and how i can fix it?

    Thanks

    Trowa
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. W1MRK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #3
    I would try unplugging, waiting a bit and turning it back on. May help, may not. This is only if there is a error OS wise or HD wise and you are not at capacity.

    There is another type of reset that involves holding in the power button but I can not remember how it works? Anyone?
     
  4. W1MRK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #4
    You don't have anything like a torrent thats been queried to retrieve by chance do you? Just another thought
     
  5. Trowa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #5
    No i don't, i have tried removing the power cable and leaving it but when i boot up its still the same.
     
  6. Cole JM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #6
    Sounds like you messed up your HDD could be bad sectors created by the loss of power.
     
  7. Trowa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #7
    anything i can do about it?
     
  8. Trowa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #8
    anyone? QQ
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Just out of curiosity, have you done what post #2 recommended/asked?

    Btw, bumping is not really welcome here, unless it may be a day or two.
     
  10. Trowa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #10
    i would its saying my hard drive is full when i try and download any of those programs, and i don't know how to check the free/used capacity via Finder.

    Sorry about the bump, now i know there not welcome :)
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    Open Finder, select Macintosh HD on the Sidebar, press Command () + I and see what it says there.
     
  12. Trowa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #12
    Capacity: 999.86 GB
    Available: 14.8 MB
    Used: 999.85 GB on disk.

    There is literally nothing on the computer. I have tried repairing the disc from the disc but it says its fine. Worth removing and reinstalling?
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    Do you have access to another Mac with Firewire? If so you could use Target Disk Mode and run OmniDiskSweeper from that other Mac and delete whatever takes up your HDD capacity.

    And if you boot from your grey Restore DVD and run Disk Utility, what does it say then about free and used HDD capacity?
     
  14. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #14
    Did you empty your trash?

    And is that how you always shut down your mac? by holding the power button down? Cause thats NOT the way you do it. Thats a hard reset type of shutdown.

    Why ever shut it down? Just put it to sleep, uses no power.
     
  15. Trowa, Apr 16, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011

    Trowa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #15
    No i don't recently got rid of the second mac in the household :s

    I ran the grey restore disc again and it came out with this:

    Capacity: 999.86 GB
    Available: 322.4 MB
    Used: 999.54 GB
    Number of Folders: 545,996

    :S

    @Badger Yeah i have emptied my trash and no, i don't normally turn my mac of like that. Only if it freezes/crashes but last night i was being lazy. Thanks for the tip for putting it to sleep, i'll use that from now on :)
     
  16. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #16
    At this point you might as well just reinstall if all you have are the basic programs + Starcraft 2. It'll save you more diagnostic headaches, plus it'll be totally uncluttered again.

    After you do the format in disk utility using the boot install disk, make sure that it says that you have the full amount of the drive (minus up to 1% used). If it still says that it's unavailable after the format, it's a hardware problem. Applecare (incl. one-year warranty) will cover that no problem.
     
  17. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #17
    I would guess that the entire drive has been "taken up" by some kind of "junk file" (or files), that were a result of the forced shutdown.

    It might be a "log file" of ENORMOUS size.

    Or it might be an invisible (to the Finder and you) file.

    This is what something like "Grand Perspective" does -- it locates the largest files and gives you the option of deleting them (and thus, "clearing up" the consumed space).

    If NOTHING else seems to be working for you, the next option might be to boot from the System DVD and erase the hard drive, and then re-install the OS. But of course you'll lose everything that's on the drive, and you'll have to go to your backup drive to reclaim those things.

    Wait a minute, you say. There's no backup? If that's the case, then it might be high time for you to start learning about what a backup is and why you need it. Actually, what's going on right now shows you WHY you NEED a backup.
     

Share This Page