Reset Password On Panther

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by lisalover1, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. lisalover1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #1
    I recently got a free Powermac G4 400 (PPC) from a school that I work for that was clearing out their old computers. As of now, it is running OS X 10.3.9, and I wish to upgrade it to 10.4, as the processor is too slow for 10.5. However, the machine has a password still in use, which I need to start the upgrade process. I looked around online to find ways to reset the password, but none of them have worked as of yet. Any ideas on how to do this?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Just startup from the Tiger disc and either erase the drive or upgrade it. Using the Tiger disc you should also be able to reset the password.
     
  3. lisalover1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #3
    How do I boot from the disc? I tried holding down the C key as well as holding down the C and Mac keys on startup, but it didn't ever give me the option to boot to disc.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    With the disc in and the computer off, turn it on them immediately press the Option/Alt key. This will give you the boot device chooser. When it is done searching for bootable devices, select the Tiger disc with the mouse and then click the arrow button. This will start the machine up from the disc. Some older Macs don't support the C at boot option or won't do this if the optical drive is setup incorrectly.
     
  5. lisalover1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #5
    Okay, I got to the boot selection screen, but the disc isn't appearing as an option to boot from, only the Hard Drive is an option. It shows up on the desktop when in the OS, though.
     
  6. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    Your Tiger disc needs to be a Black-retail-version disc, any of the grey computer specific discs will not work unless you have the one designated for your computer.
     
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    There are a few ways to reset the password via single user mode. I don't know if they would work on a Panther installation or not.

    A gray restore Tiger disc will boot on a 400Mhz PowerMac G4, but it won't install on one without a few modifications.
     
  8. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
  9. lisalover1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #9
    Thanks for the help, everyone, it's really appreciated. Now, when I am trying to setup an account, I go through all the steps, but when I try to actually create an admin account on startup (Panther), I get the error "MESSAGE_FATAL_ERROR unable to add standard user". Then, it starts the whole first start sequence over again. Also, yes, I am using a burnt DVD of OS X Tiger.
     
  10. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #10
    just suck it up and go legit. Tiger discs are going cheap nowadays
     
  11. laptoplover2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    lisalover1, you said you're still on Panther here? If you are, you are in luck my friend. I just got a PowerBook G4 Titanium with Panther, I didn't know the admin password. Here's what to do, it worked perfectly for me and I'm typing this on the PowerBook now.

    1) As soon as you turn on the computer, like as soon as you press the on button, press Command + S at the same time until a bunch of terminal codes come up.

    2) Type in the following codes:
    /sbin/fsck – y (press enter)
    /sbin/mount –uaw (press enter)
    rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone (press enter)
    reboot (press enter)

    This will create another User Account on there that is fully administrative with no password yet. It'll play the Welcome video and set up as if it's the first boot. It'll skip the login screen and go straight to your new account, and there you can get everything set up.
     
  12. lisalover1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #12
    Thanks for the tip, but when I enter that remove command, it gives me an error saying "No such file or directory". Also, I get an Incorrect Block Count error when doing the first command. Plus, my machine now freezes during the "Login Window Starting" portion of booting.
     
  13. lisalover1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #13
    No ideas? My Mac won't boot now, so I really need some help.
     
  14. Starfighter macrumors 6502a

    Starfighter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    Why didn't you ask the school for the password?
     
  15. lisalover1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #15
    They don't know what it is; they haven't used the machine in years. Besides, I already deleted the account, so it wouldn't be of any use to me now.
     
  16. Starfighter macrumors 6502a

    Starfighter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #16
    I know you deleted the account, I was referring to the beginning. :) But now I know that you couldn't have gotten a hold of it anyway.
     

Share This Page