reset safari?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by timpleton, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. timpleton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
  2. NStocks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
  3. TomTomTuning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Central PA
    #3
    Browser reset can be found at Safari>Preferences>Privacy
     
  4. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #4
    Is remove all website data the same as reset Safari?
     
  5. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #5
    No, removing website data is only one of many selectable functions in Reset Safari.
     
  6. laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #6
    Both true for Safari 7.
     
  7. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #7
    I'd really like to to a true reset as it's running a little slow right now.
     
  8. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #8
    Turn on Developer Menu and clear cache.
     
  9. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #9
    Tried it. Doesn't seem to have done anything.
     
  10. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #10
    Clearing the cache doesn't "really" speed things up it just gives the browser a chance to refresh new pages without having to invalidate the old cache first, you probably have some other network process dragging things down.

    My observation is Safari is very quick for most people reporting on this forum. I would look at the Activity Monitor to see where your resources are being used,
     
  11. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #11
    Safari is the only thing running.

    I rebooted and when it came up, I saw the Apple logo and a progress bar under it. Maybe it wasn't done installing.
     
  12. Traverse macrumors 604

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #12
    You mean the boot screen? That's how Yosemite boots up now.
     
  13. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #13
    Apparently so. It was my first reboot since installing it. Seems faster now. Not sure why.
     
  14. SanFran95 macrumors member

    SanFran95

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    #14
    It seems like History / Clear History, now also functions as the reset Safari function - it says it will clear history, cookies and other browsing data (and additionally will it do the same thing on other devices running iCloud). But I'm still not completely sure whether it really does reset Safari.
     
  15. burningrave101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #15
    I've been having quite a bit of issue with Safari 8 stalling out with the beachball on a web page and having to Force Quit and I only have typically 10-20 tabs open and visiting the same sites as I did on Mavericks. What should I try?
     
  16. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #16
    The Activity Monitor shows top processes including Safari plugins, figure out what is consuming all your resources and file a bug or Feedback.
     
  17. geekvsfreak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    #17
    remove com.apple.Safari.Extensions.plist and com.apple.Safari.plist from finder Go>Hold opt key>Library>preferences.
     

Share This Page