resetting iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by jetjaguar, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #1
    ok i have a 3gs and would like to know how to reset the phone so all the jailbroken stuff is gone ?? i jailbroke it when i first got it .. then i did a restore thru itunes as a new phone .. and it needs to go back to apple for problems with the screen

    all i keep hearing is how u need to do a restore in dfu mode ?
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    It's not a reset, it's a restore. You're doing a DFU RESTORE and restoring your phone as a new phone. Search for DFU restore, you'll find it easily by googling.
     
  3. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #3
    well i did a restore thru itunes and set it up as a new phone .. is that good enough or do i need to do a DFU restore ?
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    That is all you need to do. Before I took my unlocked phone into Apple I did a DFU followed by a restore in recovery mode. Apple didn't suspect a thing.
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    He didn't do a DFU though.
     
  6. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #6
    i didn't do the DFU .. i just went into Itunes and selected a restore as a new phone .. so should i do a DFU because i do not want to take a chance of them seeing crash data or something

    and if so how do i do it .. i read you u shut down the iphone and start it by holding both buttons .. then let go of the home key when you see the apple ?
     
  7. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #7
    You can do DFU mode, like this.
     
  8. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #8
    well currently restoring the iphone .. i follow the directions and held both buttons for 10 sec then let go of the power button and held the home button until itunes popped up with a message saying it has detected an iphone in recovery mode .. so i let go and just clicked restore and update .. and im gonna set it up as a new phone


    that was DFU mode right ?
     
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    Yes, as long as the screen was blank when it was detected.
     
  10. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #10
    i think there was a picture of the usb cable to itunes ? but i followed everything
     
  11. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #11
    oh well whatever .. i hope it worked .. going into apple today because of the screen being dimmed when trying to unlock the phone for use ..
     

Share This Page