Resize and Browser Issues - Help

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by tri3limited, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. tri3limited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm currently having a couple of issues regarding compatibility and functionality of the site i've developed.

    Firstly, when you attempt to resize the browser or view the site on a low resolution screen, the navigation menu moves from side to side leaving the central column. This occurs on all browsers. I am unable to keep this static and it's probably to do with the CSS as i've chucked in a float and an absolute position. (See the attached CSS zip file - Code located at the bottom of the file)

    Second of all, when viewing the site in Firefox (Mac and PC) the SWF flash file on the homepage moves its position down to cover over the sites main text area. This is odd and only occurs in Firefox. Safari and IE work like a dream.

    Live Example: http://future-digital.co.uk

    Looking forward to hearing your suggestions,

    Jack
     

    Attached Files:

  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    you should attribute a absolute position for your div that include the flash.
     
  3. tri3limited thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Thanks i appear to have gotten the menu bar and flash to stay put perfect in IE & Safari... Just that mental devil of a Firefox browser won't keep the flash positioned in the same place??

    Would chucking in some html to detect the browser type and loading up the relevant CSS file do the trick? If so ne idea how i would go about it?


    The home and about pages work fine now except in firefox.

    http://www.future-digital.co.uk
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    i dont see anything CSS related. firefox is displaying your flash displaced, because your "you need flash" warning layer is pushing it downwards. Its probably when you using the object tag, some extra stuff happened.

    look at the source of the page, you embeded cs_home.swf twice, i would start there.

    your page is embedding it for both non-IE and IE engine, while supposed to hide IE part for non-IE engine with "IECC(i don't know what that is, its in your source)". Firefox probably is capable displaying the part for IE engine, so it embeded it twice.
     
  5. tri3limited thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Thanks for all of your responses but this problem still exists?

    Code:
      <object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="829" height="239" id="FlashID" title="CentreStage2.0" vspace="130" hspace="23">
        <param name="movie" value="swf/cs_home.swf" />
        <!-- Next object tag is for non-IE browsers. So hide it from IE using IECC. -->
        <!--[if !IE]>-->
        <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="swf/cs_home.swf" width="829" height="239">
          <!--<![endif]-->
          <param name="quality" value="high" />
          <param name="wmode" value="opaque" />
          <param name="swfversion" value="9.0.45.0" />
          <!-- This param tag prompts users with Flash Player 6.0 r65 and higher to download the latest version of Flash Player. Delete it if you don’t want users to see the prompt. -->
          <param name="expressinstall" value="Scripts/expressInstall.swf" />
          <!--[if !IE]>-->
        </object>
        <!--<![endif]-->
      </object>
    </div>
    
    With regards to the previous post if i remove one instance of the cs_home.swf then it removes it from Firefox completely and if i remove the other it stays misaligned?

    This is simply the insert SWF code inbuilt into Dreamweaver CS4 (Beta). Is there a different version i should use? This adds a file called
    swffix_modified.js
    That's cool right?

    The only other error i get is on the eShop page where in IE and Opera it only displays 3 of the images?? In firefox and safari it shows all 4... This is odd because it's just simple IMG tags in HTML, nothing complex???

    Thanks a lot and please do keep helping out!

    Jack
     
  6. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    There's 57 validation errors on the page. That's one thing to fix up. Also try adding the CSS below. Was only able to try in Firefox and Safari though.

    Code:
    #FlashID {
     position: absolute; top: 0px;
    }
     
  7. tri3limited thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Thanks a lot for that... worked a treat in everything (well except Opera but i dont think i can be fussed to solve that one!)

    I always validate last... Get most of the creases out first!
    My only problem is that with this project i've used a special backend WYSIWYG text editor at the client's request and unfortunately due to the way it's configured it's not to be identified until it's triggered with a certain combination of keystrokes!! Works amazingly well but will neva allow for the site to be fully validated because of this...

    Neva mind tho! It could be worse and not work at all!
     

Share This Page