resize bootcamp

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Tom Foolery, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. Tom Foolery macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #1
    please can sombody tell me how to resize their bootcamp partition and is it possible to use a 3rd party windows program to resize the partitions.
     
  2. overanalyzer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    #2
    Assuming you mean without blowing away the Windows installation on it, I was able to do that successfully yesterday with Partition Magic 8 within Windows. I haven't had luck with Leopard's Disk Utility, though, because it can't dynamically resize non-OS X formatted disks (and can't touch NTFS at all other than to reformat). So I'd suggest trying Partition Magic.
     
  3. Tom Foolery thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    sorry bud but just to make sure were perfectly clear, you used partition magic 8 on your windows partition to resize it. and it worked perfectly leaving all your data on both sides of the hard drive in tact
     
  4. overanalyzer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    #4
    Yes, I used Partition Magic 8 from within Windows. I resized the Windows (BootCamp) partition, as well as a second partition after it on the drive. I left the third partition (OS X journaled) at the end of the drive alone. All of those partitions are on my second hard drive, FYI. Doing so left the OS and data on my Windows drive intact.

    That being said, BACKUP FIRST. And at least now that I've said it I can't be blamed if you don't :p
     
  5. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #5
    Can you use the free trial to resize it?
     
  6. overanalyzer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    #6
    I'm really not sure. We have licenses to the full version at work so that's what I used. I assume it'll either work or tell you it won't do it. I doubt it'll break anything vs. the full version.
     

Share This Page