Resolution on second display

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JonLeBon, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. JonLeBon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #1
    I've connected two LG 22 wide displays on my Mac Pro using both dvi and vga connections, because I have a vga splitter to split the image on the second display to three additional displays. The problem is that the recommended resolution for the display is 1680*1050 (which the primary display has ) but I don't have that option on the list of suitable resolutions for the second monitor. I'm totally new on Mac and probably asking an easy question, but I'm out of options now. How do I get the right resolution on the second display? I really need help with this. Thanks:)
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    Might sound a bit dumb... but have you tried "System Preferences" (found under the Apple-logo top left of your screen) , and then "Displays"?
     
  3. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #3
    This sounds confusing - you have a primary display via DVI that is a 22" LCD with 1680x1050 native resolution - that should display @ native no problem.

    As for the second display - via VGA - this is also a 22" @ 1680x1050 native -- but with a 3-way splitter connected before it? I would just connect the 2nd display directly to the VGA and skip the splitter entirely. (unless you have multiple monitors) Because this VGA splitter may be preventing OSX from "seeing" this monitors supported resolutions.

    Under system preferences / displays - you should see on monitor #1 the preference pane with the available settings - and on monitor #2 - you'll see an additional window for that monitors settings.
     
  4. JonLeBon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #4
    Thanks for replies. I've already tried to connect the second display without the splitter. Doesn't work. 1680*1050 doesn't appear on the second display properties and on the top of the properties there's "vga -display" not the model of the display. In winxp both are ok, even with the splitter. My friend has a similar setup but with different brand monitors, and has no problems. Tried searching LG support, but there's nothing for Mac. And nothing on Mac support... I'm helpless.:(
     
  5. JonLeBon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
  6. brentford77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #6
    Jon,

    Did you ever get a resolution to your issue of a second screen on a mac mini that you posted a couple of years back? I just installed a second screen today and have exactly the same resolution issue...

    Anthony
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    You can try switchresx software as a workaround.
     
  8. ComposerLady macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #8
    Two monitors separate adjustment sizes

    Hi, you may have already figured this out - but I just fixed the same problem. If you go to System Preferences>Displays on a Mac Pro Each Monitor will show a Display and Color choices panel. The Mac pro figures this out automatically (pretty cool). You can have your displays on different resolutions. This could have been easy to miss since you had two exact same monitors. Hopefully this will help someone out there. :)
     
  9. csiCJ macrumors newbie

    csiCJ

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #9
    I am having the exact same problem! I went to the Apple store and spent two hours with a Genius and the issue was not resolved. I spoke to the manager and she offered a few things, 30% off a Cinema Display, or a free downgrade to Snow Leopard. I'm going back today to see if they have any news on a fix.

    The resolution I needed, but that is not offered, was 1280x768. Hopefully Apple will find a fix.
     

Share This Page