RESOLVED - Blank Screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nyzwerewolf, May 24, 2009.

  1. nyzwerewolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I have a 2007 MacBook Pro. I usually leave it to sleep when I don't use it. Today morning, I opened the lid, and I heard the noise when it wakes up, but the screen stays blank.

    Here are the troubleshooting I did:

    1) I powered it off & on, screen is blank.
    2) I powerd it off, pulled the battery, powered it on, screen is blank.
    3) I powered it off, connected it to an external monitor using a DVI cable, powered the notebook on, MBP Display stays blank. The external monitor says "no signal".

    Any idea? :(
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Restart holding Command-Option-P-R to reset the PRAM.
     
  3. nyzwerewolf thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #3
    nothing...

    screen is still blank.. I know the unit is booting up because I hear the booting sound, and i also have a disc in it, and i can hear it spin.. but nothing on the screen.. :(
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Your inverter may have fried. Do you have AppleCare?
     
  5. nyzwerewolf thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #5
    yes I do have AppleCare.

    AppleStore it is then... i guess.. gotta wait till the morning..

    Do you think it may have something to do with this?: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2377
     
  6. pkoch1 macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    This is a common issue that has just started showing up in the past few months. The GPU is probably fried, so you will need a new Logic Board. Good luck!

    EDIT: and yes, that article is regarding this issue. ;)
     
  7. nyzwerewolf thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  8. pkoch1 macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Nah, it's a good thing, so it means that everything will be fixed :)
     
  9. nyzwerewolf thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #9
    oh yea - true. :)

    thanks again guys! i'll let you know what they say at the Apple Store!
     
  10. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #10
    definitely a gpu issue. you could test it by booting it as a firewire target disk and then connecting to another mac and holding down the option key to boot.
     
  11. sascha h-k macrumors 6502

    sascha h-k

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    vienna / austria
  12. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Yes and no.

    On the OP's MBP, you'll hold T, then on the other Mac, you hold option to boot from the target MBP's drive.
     
  13. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #13
    yes, boot computer A with b0rked graphics holding the key "T" and then connect to computer "B" holding the option key to boot off of it. or just boot and backup your data if that's what you want.

    you could enable ssh too if you wanted and check hardware... i don't think vnc will work without a graphics adapter...
     
  14. nyzwerewolf thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #14
    hey guys, apple replaced my LogicBoard, and everything works fine now. Thanks to all of you!
     

Share This Page