Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Drew888

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 14, 2013
Los Angeles, CA
I am debating between getting a 13" rMBP 3.0 GHz Dual-Core i7 or a 15" rMBP 2.8 GHz Quad-Core i7.

Is there a noticible difference in speed between the two processors? I just want it for day-to-day use. I am a Third Grade Teacher and want to take it back and forth from home to my classroom.

I always buy the fastest possible, but really prefer the 13" size. Unfortunately the 13" does not offer a Quad-Core configuration, so I am questioning if I should get a slightly larger machine to have the speed.

Thanks in advance for any recommendations!..:confused:

Last edited:

Orlandoech

macrumors 68040
Jun 2, 2011
Why the 2.8 15" over the 2.3 or 2.6? You really need less than 10% difference? The cost:value isn't worth it at all unless you will actually profit from the difference.

"I always buy the fastest possible", why?

Nothing the 2.8GHz can do, the 2.3GHz CAN'T do and it will be like that for the life of the machine (arguably).

jesaja

macrumors member
Sep 15, 2003
Lichtenstein
Keep in mind the real world performance gain will be much lower (than the mentioned 70%), depending on the application. Many can't propery share load over multiple threads, so they will benefit more from raw single core speed.

Drew888

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 14, 2013
Los Angeles, CA
Why the 2.8 15" over the 2.3 or 2.6? You really need less than 10% difference? The cost:value isn't worth it at all unless you will actually profit from the difference.

"I always buy the fastest possible", why?