Respring vs restart

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by gravytrain84, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. gravytrain84 macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Respring will restart your SpringBoard while restart will restart the entire device.
     
  3. gravytrain84 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #3
    Whats the difference? Is one better than another?
     
  4. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    If you made changes to your SpringBoard, it's easier to just re-spring. If you installed a new app via Cydia, I recommend restarting.
     
  5. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #5
    Think of it being similar to the Log Off and Restart functions on your computer. One keeps the OS core running while one completely shuts it down before coming back.
     
  6. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #6
    What about refresh? Ive never figured out what that does
     
  7. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Where do you see that?
     
  8. gravytrain84 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #8
    Understood, thanks allot
     
  9. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #9
    SBSettings..
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    Refresh generally just reloads a page being displayed. Like F5 key for browser.
     
  11. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #11
    I know that..but what is the refresh in SBS used for?
     
  12. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #12
    It refreshes the status of the toggles. Sometimes SBS fails to update properly when settings are changed in Settings, etc. Refresh will make sure that the latest statuses are shown. I've sometimes, for instance, had the SSH toggle incorrectly display as on until I hit refresh.
     
  13. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #13
    Oh, ok cool. Thanks for clearing that up
     
  14. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #14
    Learned something new. I’d never bothered hitting that. :eek:
     

Share This Page