Restart breaks apps

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by mctavish, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. mctavish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #1
    Has anyone else noticed that, after an OS X system restart, one app or another almost always comes up broken? Another system restart or sometimes just restarting the app fixes the problem. The problem didn't begin with Mavericks, but it isn't any better. I use multiple Macs and have had the same trouble with all of them.

    I just wondered if anyone else has noticed it.
     
  2. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    odd that you'd have the same issue with multiple macs. i'd look at the app installs themselves; are they the same sources? (i.e. Office from the same installer)?

    i don't know of anyone else with that issue (not to say it doesn't exist for others).
    but...something is consistent between your macs; i'd explore whatever's similar for a start...
     
  3. mctavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the replay, fisherking. I took it to be an OS X problem, not a problem with my particular computers/apps. But that is why I was asking. I'll give it more thought to see if I can identify anything that may be unique to my computers. They are all configured very similarly with pretty much the same apps.
     
  4. Honza1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #4
    Not sure I have ever seen this on any of the Macs/Applications I have.

    Even though it is not obvious what "broken" means, I have seen one application loosing its registration information (not sure when), but that is application bug, not OSX problem.

    I would consider this major problem and dealt with it. There must be something specific to your setups/system/application which causes this. This is NOT normal and needs to be fixed.

     
  5. drew627 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #5
    Yeah specify what you mean by broken so we might be able to offer some useful opinion.
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    I have yet to see any app "broken" after a system restart, but then I have no clue what you mean by "broken".

    I can't see what a simple system restart would do to break things.

    I assume by system restart you mean after a normal shutdown, not after pulling the plug or force qutting or some other unusual means
     
  7. mctavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #7
    More details

    By "restart," I mean Apple Menu → Restart...

    "Broken" of course means malfunction, but almost always the application just won't launch. The problem that precipitated the post was Chrome Remote Desktop. After restarting the host computer, I couldn't connect remotely through Chrome Remote Desktop, so I used LogMeIn, rebooted the host again and Chrome Remote Desktop was working that time. The reboot malfunction has occurred with Chrome Remote Desktop before, but also with other apps.

    Thanks everyone.
     

Share This Page