Restore 2011 macbook pro to factory settings

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by circa--survive, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. circa--survive macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #1
    Hi all

    Im looking to restore my macbook pro to its original factory settings as i am looking to sell it.

    When i boot up and go to disk utility i am unsure which drives i need to erase. I want to get rid of all data!

    This is what comes up when i start disk utility. What is the difference between hitachi and macintosh hd? do i need to reformat both? and what is disk 1?

    Im very ocd about things like this so i need to make sure EVERYTHING is gone before i sell it on.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. ivoruest macrumors 6502

    ivoruest

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Guatemala
    #2
    Restart your Mac and press Option when the grey screen appears. Then select Recovery Disk.

    Open Disk Utility and format the partition with the name you want for Mac OS Journaled. I always use 3 pass for security reasons. It will take about 1:30 hours.

    Then close Disk Utility and select Install Mac OS. Choose the partition you just formatted and install from there. This will take about an hour depending on your internet connection speed.
     
  3. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #3
    so if i want to completely erase do i erase the Macintosh hd or hitachi? or both?
     
  4. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
  5. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #5
    You would erase "Macintosh HD" as that is the actual partition of the drive that contains the format.
     
  6. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
    ok great. So dont touch the Hitachi drive? What is the disk 1 drive about?

    Also, i hear alot of people talk about booting lion from a disc instead of using the reinstall lion osx option on the menu when you reboot. Why is this?
     
  7. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
  8. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #8
    Sorry, never got back to you because it wasn't a quote notification.

    You can erase the Hitachi drive itself and that will also erase the partitions on it, in this case "Macintosh HD." You then need to go to the Partition tab, select 1 Partition if that is what you want to do, and format it with a name and type.

    I don't use Lion/ML but disk1 looks like your recovery partition. I wouldn't touch that unless you have another way of restoring your computer, and that leads to your next question. People burn Lion to a disk or have it on a USB simply to have physical media to restore. It's more reliable in my opinion, as you can use it as long as you have it in order to recover your system.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Did you upgrade to Mountain Lion? If you did you will need to boot from an external USB key to format the entire drive to get rid of the ML Recovery HD and get back to the factory Lion install.
     
  10. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #10
    So if i erase the hitachi drive i can just create a partition and name it macintosh hd and im good? I just want to make sure its completely clean.

    Last question. If i then install snow leopard as o have the disk for it can i upgrade straight to mountain lion?
     
  11. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #11
    Yep, and I am not sure on upgrading directly to ML from SL. I would assume that you could if you purchased ML regardless of whether or not you purchased Lion.
     
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Yes and yes.
     
  13. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #13
    ok new problem, when i try to erase the hitachi drive it won't unmount? i just want to wipe the macintosh hd and the disk 1/mac os base partition which i assume is lion recovery so i can clean install from my snow leopard disk :(
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Where are you booted from while trying to do this? You need to either boot from the Snow Leopard DVD and run Disk Util from there, or boot from an external USB key with recovery and do it from there. It sounds like you have booted to the internal drive's Recovery HD and you cannot format the drive from there while booted to it.
     
  15. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #15
    i thought i was booting from my snow leopard disk but obviously not. How do i do this?
     
  16. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #16
    Hold the c key when booting and it will boot from a CD/DVD.
     
  17. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #17
    Thanks for answering all these questions, im rubbish at this. Ok that ha worked, last question. do i just format the hitrachi drive as os journaled? ive also read something about a guid? whatever that is?
     
  18. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #18
    No sweat. :)

    Yep... just pick Mac OS Extended (Journaled). I think it defaults to that? It will make it GUID if you pick Mac OS Extended all on its own.
     
  19. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
  20. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #20
    ive erased the drive and named it hitachi again but its renamed the machintosh hd partition instead :S i assume that means its erased the partition and not the hitachi drive?
     
  21. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #21
    That is okay and how it should work. By clicking on Hitachi instead of just the Macintosh HD you made sure it erased the Recovery HD. You are good to go.
     
  22. circa--survive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #22
    Oh great :) that's a relief. Also should i be using zero out data or 7 pass?
     
  23. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #23
    The lowest zero out option is plenty for you. Even that will take some time, so be prepared for a bit of a wait. It goes through and writes zeroes to very space on the drive... so it takes a while.
     

Share This Page