Restore 3.1 data to 3.0

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Rolala, Oct 4, 2009.

  1. Rolala macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I stupidly upgraded my 3GS to 3.1 and lose my jailbreak of course.

    Now I had my phone replaced and fortunately the new one comes with 3.0.1 . But here comes the problem, the iTunes won't allow me to restore my contact, msg, setting & etc to the new phone because the fw is and older version.

    I'm wondering if there is a way to do it? Thank you for all the help.
     
  2. zwaldowski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #2
    Okay, fixing this requires about three or four steps.

    1. Locate your Backups directory. On Mac OS X, the is /Users/yourusername/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup. On Windows, this will be somewhere in your AppData (Win+R, type %AppData% and press enter) folder, likely Roaming. Explore the iTunes folder.

    2. Choose a backup. Likely the largest (in MB) size, or the most recent. Open Info.plist (using TextEdit on Mac or Notepad on Windows) and change any reference of 7C144 and 3.1 to 7A341 and 3.0 respectively.

    3. Delete your /var/mobile/Media/iTunes_Control folder on your iPhone. This can be done using DiskAid (Mac+Windows), iPhoneBrowser, iFunbox, iFile (on device), or any SSH client.

    4. Sync with iTunes and restore from your backup.
     
  3. Rolala thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #3
    Hi zwaldowski thanks for the great guide. I'll be trying it soon.
     
  4. philstone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Isles
    #4
    Or update your 3.01 to 3.1 with Pwnage that was released on Friday night.... 3.1 JB is working fine on mine since Friday night, only downsides are no carrier logo showing and the JB breaks tethering....
     
  5. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #5
    That's not going to go well. Stay away from cross-firmware backups. You'll have battery issues and at least a few upset Apps.
     
  6. Rolala thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #6
    Just realized that I lost my data coz I choose "set up as a new phone" before posting this thread.

    To philstone: thanks for the suggestion but I not really want to upgrade to 3.1 atm till a bugless & easy-to-use jailbreak release.


    Trying to setup a new phone now. Thanks guys for all the comments.
     

Share This Page