restore after software updates?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by white4s, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. white4s macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    how necessary is it to restore it after a software update? im still having battery issues and ive read restoring could fix it. also could i restore it so it doesnt revert back to factory and just stays as is? thanks
     
  2. mms13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #2
    A 'restore' will revert to factory settings no matter what. I believe you're referring to the fact that you can either 'Set up as new' or 'set up from a backup' after the restore. Likely, the things you've read about fixing battery problems will involve you setting up as new. If you restore to a backup, you're likely bringing along all the old problems your phone had before.

    That being said - I've had an iPhone 3G, iPhone 4, and iPhone 4S and I've never set up as new. I'm technically still using the backup from my iPhone 3G without issues. If you don't want to lose your settings/game saves/camera roll/etc - then don't do it. If you don't care about that stuff, then a restore as new might help you.
     
  3. white4s thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
  4. lelisa13p macrumors 68000

    lelisa13p

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    #4
    Have you tried draining the battery to 0% and then charge back up to 100%? Worked well for me; I had battery issues following each upgrade and this helped noticeably each time. (iPhone 4 and iPad 1)
     
  5. white4s thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    plenty of times. ive never gone past 6 hours per cycle
     
  6. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #6
    Have you tried a Reset Settings, not an "Erase Content and Settings"? Just a plain reset of settings followed by replacing your old settings has proven to help if I am too lazy to set up as new. I usually always set up as new when there is a major release(x.x, not x.x.x).
     
  7. white4s thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    you mean the reset all settings option? ill try it out
     
  8. white4s thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    thats what im thinking but im confused about what i lose or dont lose?

    restore wise
     

Share This Page