iPhone Restore Error on iTunes (Unknown Error 1)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by core2kid, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. core2kid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #1
    I purchased an iPhone 4 on Ebay which had a restore error and a bad battery (No water damage). I thought the restore error was due to a bad battery so I replaced the battery and tried to restore the phone and got an unknown error 1. I tried on another computer and received the same error.

    Now I've used Redsn0w and used the "recovery fix" option and gotten the phone to boot. Then I used Redsn0w and jailbroke because I do not have a SIM at the moment and the phone fired up without issues. I even have a baseband and IMEI. I just haven't tested calls because I won't have access to an AT&T SIM for a couple weeks. Any ideas on why iTunes is throwing this error?

    Version: 5.1.1 (9B208)
    Carrier: Not Available (No SIM in phone)
    Model: MC318LL
    IMEI: xx xxxxxx xxxxxx x (They are digits but hidden for security purposes)
    ICCID: No SIM
    Modem Firmware: 04.12.01
     
  2. j4l macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #2
    Im in the same boat as u - itunes error 1... Do let me know if u tackle the problem..
     
  3. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #3
    Error 1
    You are attempting to downgrade an iPhone from iOS 5 to iOS 4.x. To resolve, use either custom firmware created by PwnageTool/sn0wbreeze or use notcom's FixRecovery utility available on his site.
    On an iPhone 4 downgrading from iOS 5, use the option in TinyUmbrella to allow a baseband "upgrade" to bypass the error and go back to basband 4.10.1.
    Unable to downgrade. Try changing the USB port (the back one of chassis is better) and restart computer.
    The installed version of iTunes may also be too old. Update iTunes.
    You are trying to downgrade an iPhone 4 to an earlier version of iOS 5, using redsn0w. To resolve, stitch your blobs to a "No_BB" ipsw of the firmware you are trying to downgrade to.
     
  4. j4l macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #4
    Im not on custom fw - im on 5.1.1 original firmware. And restoring back to original 5.1.1 fw..

    I think it maybe hardware related such as baseband not being flashed correctly by the looks of my the update log report
     
  5. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #5
    Try to empty your Hosts file (all but the one default line)
    remember you need to have an internet connection
    then do a DFU restore.

    if that doesn't work,
    try another usb port
    the next step after that would be to try another computer
     

Share This Page