restore from backup?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by paulold, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. paulold macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    Sorry - this is basic, but there are no instructions... I am upgrading from the 1st Gen iPhone to 3GS. Do I set it up as a new iPhone or do I restore from backup of my previous phone?
     
  2. InTheAir macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #2
    I chose to restore my 3GS from a backup of my 3G, if that helps.
     
  3. paulold thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    thanks - yeah, that makes sense - i just noticed that i hadn't backed up my previous phone for a couple of days - so i stopped the process to sync up my last phone one last time

    wish me luck!
     
  4. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #4
    Restoring mostly worked for me, but it didn't restore the passwords for my mail accounts, or the WiFi passwords. Also it errored installing one app, but it's one I can live without anyway.
     
  5. InTheAir macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #5
    Does it ever restore passwords?

    I recently got a new 3G (cracks in case) and when I went to restore that one a week ago, it did not copy over mail account passwords. I assumed it just doesn't backup that info for security reasons.

    BWTHDIK.
     
  6. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #6
    Maybe, but what security reasons would those be? The phone has a passcode and SIM lock, and the Mac is password protected, so it seems pretty weak.
     
  7. paulold thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    yikes - i hope i didn't screw something up - my backup of my old phone is running very slowly - it's only halfway done and its been awhile longer than any backup has been recently... i hope i didn't confuse my iTunes by stopping the process with my new phone to backup the old phone one last time...
     
  8. rawrmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #8
    I'm a first gen upgrader too. I still have 2.2 on my phone. Do I have to upgrade to 3.0 and back my phone up and then restore my 3GS from back up or can I just backup with 2.2 on my first gen and restore from backup on my 3GS?
     
  9. InTheAir macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #9
    Don't know.

    You could give it a try and if it doesn't work, update the first gen to 3.0, backup, and restore the 3GS again.
     
  10. paulold thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #10
    Interesting question. I upgraded my iPhone to 3.0 when it came out, which was the last time I backed up as well. So this is my first time backing up since adding 3.0 to the phone and it's still taking forever...

    FYI, when I upgraded to 3.0, it worked for me on the first try and was very easy.
     
  11. paulold thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #11
    Think of it this way... Your old iPhone is still an iPod Touch now so why not have the latest software on it?
     

Share This Page