Restore from time machine back up

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vinnyemmery, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. vinnyemmery macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #1
    Hi just looking for some clarification
    if I were to make a time machine back up of my MacBook pro and then sold it wouid I be able to restore that time machine back up on a new iMac ( both are using snow leopard , uni MacBook pro and new 27 iMac)?

    Thanks guys
     
  2. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    I believe you can, yes.
     
  3. Appleart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    #3
    Yes, you definitely can. I never recommend TM though. I like SuperDuper! much better.
     
  4. techound1 macrumors 68000

    techound1

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    #4
    TM perfectly fine. Superduper is an unnecessarily $30. If you really must go the clone-and-incremental style of backup, carbon copy cloner is free and has better support.
     
  5. SA22C macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Location:
    Top Gear Test Track.
    #5
    I've set up several machines from a single backup over the past few years without issue. Time Machine rocks. :D
     

Share This Page