Resolved Restore iPhone 4 without upgrading to 6.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Waflsk8s, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. Waflsk8s, Sep 29, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2012

    Waflsk8s macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #1
    I have an old iPhone 4 that I'm planning on selling and I wanted to reset the phone. I tried to do a restore (to 5.1.1) but just ended up semi bricking my phone; it's stuck in recovery. Is there a way I can restore it to 5.1.1 without going to iOS 6? I keep getting an error on restore (I've gotten error 1600, 1601, 1604, 11, just to name a few).


    Thanks
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    with out your personal devices shsh blobs you can not.
     
  3. Waflsk8s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #3
    how do I know if cydia has my shsh blobs or not? I remember seeing something like that on cydia but I don't know how to access cydia blobs (and it's not saved on my computers)
     
  4. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #4
    wither check cydia or or download tiny umbrella to check if you google check shsh blobs you will find all the info you need to know. ;) also you might find out what a seller wants most buyers don't care about the jailbreak the unlocked part is what brings the money ebay sell IEMI or factory unlocks for only a few bucks we have many threads about it here.
     
  5. Waflsk8s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #5
    I checked my cydia shsh blobs and apparently it should work with 5.1.1, etc but it's not working... I tried stitching the blobs to the firmware before updating and still keep getting the error 1601
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    use TinyUmbrella, in the advanced tab make sure that Set host to Cydia is UNchecked.

    Use pwned-DFU to restore your stitched IPSW
     
  7. Waflsk8s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #7
    I've done that, set hosts isn't even selectable (it's greyed out) and I've tried checking and unchecking request SHSH from cydia. Phone is in pwned DFU mode (black screen, etc). I'm really confused because now I keep getting error 1600.
     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #8
    try an earlier version of TU, it should work

    also you can try running sn0wbreeze on a (virtual) windows machine, that has worked for some people.
     
  9. Waflsk8s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #9
    OMG finally got it working thanks! I'm not sure what I did exactly that made it work but using snowbreeze, redsnow, tiny umbrella, etc mixing and matching settings something seemed to work however I figured out that my baseband updated (either this update or one of the previous ones) so I can't unlock it anymore. Oh well thanks for your help! I now have to see if I can get AT&T to unlock my phone or use ebay...
     
  10. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #11
    hmm…always provide important info like you need to unlock, we might have prevented the BB upgrade….
     
  11. Waflsk8s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #12
    It's fine; after it messed up the initial restore I was just trying to get it to a functional state without having to update all the way to 6.0. However I'm now thinking all I need to do is unlock it. I sent in a request through ATT but I may just go on ebay since it's like $10 and they get back to you within a day.
     
  12. s3rialthriller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    #13
    i'd also like to be able to restore without upgrading to ios 6. i can't seem to find an updated how to. would i need to stitch an IPSW file or something? Itd be appreciated if someone could link me or write a quick one up for restoring 5.1.1 without updating.
    cheers
     
  13. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #14
    If it is an iPhone 3GS or iPhone4 and you have saved the 5.1.1 hashes, use the newest Redsn0w

    Extras --> Even More --> Restore
     
  14. s3rialthriller, Oct 16, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012

    s3rialthriller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    #15
    yeah its iphone4 and 5.1.1 hashes are saved.

    have tried various methods but i get 3194 error when I have definitely put it into Pwned DFU mode beforehand. (have tried using redsn0w or ireb for putting into Pwned DFU mode)

    - i have stitched a IPSW with my saved hashes and am using that to try to restore.

    what am I missing?

    EDIT:
    well i had tried sn0wbreeze to make the IPSW instead of redsn0w ...and success!
     

Share This Page