Restore required before running blackra1n?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tee7788, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. tee7788 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    Quick question. I have an iPhone 3GS with 3.1.2 and new bootloader. I want to jailbreak using blackra1n and was wondering if it is required to do a clean restore in itunes prior to running blackra1n? Since 3.1.3 has been released and I don't have my SHSH files in cydia, it will be impossible for me to restore to 3.1.2. So i want someone to confirm that blackra1n will work fine without restoring first. If not, do you recommend using redsnow to jailbreak instead? I know it will be a tethered jailbreak but that's fine.

    Thanks!
     
  2. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #2
    No, don't do a restore, since it won't allow you to restore to 3.1.2. Since 3.1.3 came out, I was able to just run blackra1n on my 3.1.2 and it worked just fine.
     
  3. tee7788 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Exactly.
    Ngenerator just saved your jb ability:)
     
  5. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #5
    :) No problem, glad to help. These boards have saved me so many times, just sharing the knowledge
     

Share This Page