Restore Start Up Chime on New MBP's

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tucom, Nov 26, 2016.

  1. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #1
  2. Nick11Mac macrumors 6502

    Nick11Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    Petaluma, CA
    #2
    Agree, I've always liked it too. Thanks for the link.
     
  3. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #3
    I'm glad it's an option now. I appreciate the iconic chime that reminds me it is a Mac, but I don't appreciate it when booting up my computer in a library, on a plane, or when my wife is sleeping.

    Bye bye chime -- see ya later.
     
  4. DMoggo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I managed to stop it auto booting but couldn't get it to chime for some reason?!
     
  5. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #5
    Is there any downside to stopping the auto booting?

    I presume you just use the TouchID button as a power button to turn it on?
     
  6. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #6
    Apple issued a software update that prevents the terminal command listed in the article from working.
     
  7. Nick11Mac macrumors 6502

    Nick11Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    Petaluma, CA
    #7

    That's too bad. Having a choice is now gone.
     
  8. ejl371 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    #8

    Yea, it was always the first thing I disabled in the past.
     
  9. bbates123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #9
    It's helpful for people who boot into Windows via bootcamp. I don't understand why Apple would have removed this terminal command option...makes no sense.
     
  10. ejl371 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    #10
    I just hold down option when booting... why do you need to hear the chime?
     
  11. Tucom, Nov 27, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2016

    Tucom thread starter macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #11
    That's a damn shame. Stupid @)*# like this is what's going to drive me away as a customer from Apple; literally stripping everything that gave the Mac character and made it great - Gone. WTF Apple. If it weren't for iCloud I may have switched back to PC completely already. That, and they're getting rid of positions that held the minds responsible for the brilliant inner workings of MacOS - also gone.

    Unreal.
     
  12. ubercool macrumors 6502a

    ubercool

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #12
    Yes, it's incredible that all the nice touches that provided the Mac platform with its je ne sais quoi are gone:

    - Magsafe
    - charging light indicator
    - lit Apple logo
    - bootup chime
    plus:
    ---> free power extension cord

    This from a company that has $238 billion cash on hand:

    http://www.cnbc.com/2016/10/25/apples-cash-hoard-now-nearly-238-billion.html

    Apple really has us by the breasts and balls, ladies and gentlemen. :rolleyes:
     
  13. Nick11Mac macrumors 6502

    Nick11Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    Petaluma, CA
    #13

    Those were all nice touches imho. The backlit Apple logo often appears in movies and television. What a stand out bit of advertising that has been.
     
  14. myscrnnm macrumors 6502a

    myscrnnm

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #14
    Looks like the command is still recognized. However, when it prompts me for my administrative password, it shows "Password:[key icon]" and I'm unable to input anything. The only thing it registers is the Return key, which causes it to say that the password is incorrect.
     
  15. ejl371 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    #15

    Pardon me if you already knew this, but when you type your password in terminal, *** or characters don't appear. It is accepting your typing.
     
  16. Murgatroyd314 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    #16
    Terminal doesn't display anything when you type in your password, but it's still registering it. Type it as normal, hit enter, see what happens.
     
  17. macintoshmac macrumors 65816

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #17
    OH yes, please do that and report! Most likely, I am getting this non touch bar tomorrow and would love to enable this chime back. I love the chime. It's a Mac.
     
  18. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #18
    Terminal accepts the command as normal, but the command doesn't produce results, because Apple haas since blocked the command. I posted earlier letting people know the command has been blocked. No need to keep trying it.
     
  19. myscrnnm macrumors 6502a

    myscrnnm

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #20
    I actually did not know that; thank you. Tried it again, looks like the command no longer works after all.
     

Share This Page