Restore Time Machine backup from external HDD?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sphoenix, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. sphoenix macrumors regular

    sphoenix

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #1
    Okay I've had it with VMware Fusion 3, tried Parallels. The graphics capabilities are poor for my standard of work (we use 3DS Max and Maya for intensive modelling during studies). I know my graphics card is quite outdated (ATI X1600) but a lot of the graphics-intensive apps on the Mac side run very smooth.

    So I'm going down the Boot Camp route since graphics-wise, it'll use the actual X1600 instead of some virtual one. It's telling me that I need to reformat into Mac OS Journaled or something, and some basic research tells me the only way to achieve this is a fresh install.

    My question is, if I perform a Time machine backup onto my external drive, will it restore the applications/settings/files completely how they were, after I reinstall OS X?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Should do, but before you do that you might want to see if you can just partition it yourself in Disk Utility. Can you post a screenshot of what your disk partition looks like?

    B
     
  3. sphoenix thread starter macrumors regular

    sphoenix

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #3
    If you mean this, then here:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. sphoenix thread starter macrumors regular

    sphoenix

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #4
    Incase it makes a difference, this is the error message:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Nope. I mean Disk Utility not Get Info. See the following link for more info on Disk Utility.

    http://macs.about.com/od/applications/ss/diskutilitysize.htm

    The screenshot should look like the one in the link:
    [​IMG]

    EDIT: I guess Boot Camp Assistant didn't get the memo that Apple is now reporting sizes in GB instead of the more traditional GiB. Get Info reports 159.7 GB while BCA reports 143+5=148 GB (really GiB) = 158.9 GB.
    B
     
  6. sphoenix thread starter macrumors regular

    sphoenix

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008

Share This Page