Restore to Default?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ccashman92, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. ccashman92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #1
    I recently purchased Adobe Master Suite and installed it to my MBP. I found that this was a mistake cause it cluttered my brand new MBP. So I uninstalled it and realized how cluttered my MBP is already. I was wondering is there away that I can clear everything and re-install the OS without slowing down the Mac in any way? Just like if it was new?

    I know thats how PC's are and this is my first Mac so I don't know if that happens or not.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    You can reinstall the OS to its factory state with the grey restore discs that came with your Mac.
     
  3. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #3
    Is this a joke? How can you spend 2.6k on a software package and not understand what a behemoth each application is >.<

    Anyway besides the acrobat launcher components and maybe the adobe air/flash stuff that gets installed, your mac won't simply slowdown because of a CS install. Yes, it will put stuff in all the nooks and crannies of your system but many packages do that (Final Cut, protools etc).

    Adobe also has a cleaner tool that you can run to completely remove a creative suite install from a system even after you've already uninstalled with the built in utility. You can grab it here.

    Though, having CS4MC, it does install alot of junk components if you let it do the default. Thats why I deselect all unessential language components and tool sets for apps that I don't use very often.
     
  4. ccashman92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #4
    I didn't think it would completely clutter up my Macbook Pro. I installed it on my iMac but put it on my Macbook Pro incase I wanted to do some stuff while traveling.

    My question still wasn't answered. If I restore my Mac using the install disk, will it slow my mac down at all? I know it does that to PC's.
     
  5. mdnz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    No it won't since it restores to default settings, whiping all of your data. It doesn't slow down a PC either since Windows will be restored to its default state.
     
  6. ccashman92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #6
    My PCs in the past have. So my Mac will run like new?
     
  7. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #7
    No it won't. It doesn't do it to PC's either, I don't know where you got that erroneous idea.
     
  8. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #8
    Just as an advisory....

    Master Suite gets mad at you if you install it on more than one computer, and will eventually stop working due to activation. You can deactivate and reactivate on a different machine, but you can only do that a limited number of times.
     
  9. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #9
    Actually your license allows you to have two concurrent licenses activated, one for your "desktop" or one for your "laptop".
     
  10. ccashman92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #10
    I know this. I just need to know if this restore will make my computer run like new.
     

Share This Page