Restored 10.4 and now asking for Password?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by jbsmithmac, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. jbsmithmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #1
    I recently used a cd with a dmg image to restore to the original settings on my G4 through disk utility.

    Now when it starts it up gets through the boot up process (i think) the blue bar part...and then it throws a screen asking for a "Name" and "Password". This window has these two fields to be entered and then at the bottom of the window there are options to shutdown, restart, and login (might be one more).

    My problem is that the password I was using before the restore is not working, nor do I really know what the 'Name' is supposed to be.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. jbsmithmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #2
    Before suggesting to use the os restore disc let me say this was a free machine and thus I don't have them.
     
  3. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #3
    Boot back into the image and reset the name and password.
     
  4. jbsmithmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #4
    Ok. New guy here to this stuff...how do I boot to that image?
     
  5. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #5
    restart while holding down C
     
  6. jbsmithmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #6
    Well that didn't do anything...getting the same screen.
     
  7. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #7
    This worked great with the 4 eMacs I just got with Tiger

    You need to enter terminal and create a new admin account:

    1. Reboot
    2. Hold Apple + s down after you hear the chime.
    3. When you get text prompt, enter these terminal commands to create a brand new admin account (hitting return after each line):

    mount -uw /

    rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone

    shutdown -h now

    4. After rebooting you should have a brand new admin account.
     
  8. jbsmithmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #8
    Thanks. This gets me to the "os x setup" where it asks for location and keyboard, etc. But it hangs on the screen that asks how I connect to the Internet.

    Now I am at a loss again. Anyone with ideas?

    Everyone has been great help thus far!!
     

Share This Page