Restoring 2G iPhone to erase all files

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by downingp, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. downingp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #1
    I just got the new iPhone and sold my old iPhone. I want to erase all of the data, contacts, etc on the old iPhone before I send it out. I was told to do a "restore" within iTunes and that will bring the iPhone back to its original state and install the latest software. The problem I am having is the buyer of my iPhone doesn't want me to put the 2.0 update on the iPhone. How can I delete all the info on my iPhone without having to update to 2.0?

    Thanks for your input and time.
     
  2. greenmymac macrumors 6502a

    greenmymac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa, Ok
    #2
    Go to system prefs general and reset
     
  3. downingp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #3
    That seemed to work.

    Thanks alot.
     
  4. downingp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #4
    When I did a reset. It still showed my phone number. Would it be best if I just took out the SIM card and sent it without the card in it?
     
  5. dialedone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    i am wondering the same thing looks like everything is gone except shows number and when plugged into itunes still shows number too?
     
  6. msw123307 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #6
    well i did the reset as suggested and now i can't do anything. just getting the "connect to itunes" message. how can i get the phone at least to the home screen?
     
  7. dialedone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #7
    Yea I think you have to connect it back up to iTunes to make it do anything like when it was brand new I think it might restore it.
     
  8. msw123307 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #8
    no if you do connect to itunes it won't do anything. it just says "waiting for iphone..." because there's not a sim card in it..
     
  9. dialedone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #9
    Oh I see when I plugged mine in it had a sim card and it totally restored it to where it works like an ipod even after I take out the sim card, but for some reason it still says the phone number in itunes and on the phone under my number I don't know how to get rid of that.
     

Share This Page