Restoring a hard drive if it fails

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Trt740, Jan 14, 2014.

1. Trt740 macrumors newbie

No flash drive with an OS came with my new macbook. So if my macbook SSD fails how do I restore the OS? Im new with mac so what should I do in the event this would happen?

2. old-wiz macrumors G3

the SSD has a partition called "recovery" partition. If your MBA won't boot or you need to restore you boot from the recovery partition and then you can re-download the OS.

3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

4. Trt740, Jan 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014

Trt740 thread starter macrumors newbie

You cannot reboot from a dead drive as far as I know, or am I wrong. I am wondering if the SSD drive flat out dies. I'm not talking about restoring the SSD. I mean if it dies and I want to replace it. Also, I thought the Maverick was an upgraded, so if it dies and you put a new drive in what do you upgrade with? I'm confused.

5. old-wiz macrumors G3

DeltaMac's link explains how you recover when the SSd dies - you boot internet recovery and it has enough code to begin download from Apple servers.

However, the current MBAs have a non-standard SSD which is not available except from Apple, so you would need to take it to Apple to have the SSd replaced and they would re-load the OS as well.

6. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Newer Macs like yours have Internet recovery built into the system firmware. So you would install the new drive then common-option-r boot to Internet recovery and the OS can be downloaded from Apple's servers directly onto your new, blank drive.

The problem with this approach, and you touched on it, is this will install whatever OS came from the factory. So if you bought a machine with Mountain Lion, then updated to Mavericks, an Internet recovery would only get you Mountain Lion. You could of course then start Mountain Lion and install Mavericks from the App Store afterwards.