Restoring back to 3.1.2 how to?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by The Highlander, Feb 23, 2010.

  1. The Highlander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #1
    I have tried the different tutorials on this 3gs, but I keep getting error 1015 no matter what i do. I do have the SHSH stored on cydia for my 3 3gs and two of them where accidentally updated.

    How can we downgrade back to 3.1.2 to be able to jailbreak? or is it over?
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    Did you follow the instructions for editing your .hosts file to redirect signature requests to Saurik's server? And did you try to restore to 3.1.2 in DFU mode? You will have to do both to downgrade. Details are at http://www.saurik.com/id/12#howto.
     
  3. The Highlander thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    You need to give us a little more to work with. Start by answering my questions and describng what happened.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
  6. The Highlander thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #6
    Yes i did...
     
  7. The Highlander thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #7
    Ok, After the verifying process I get stuck in the Connect to Itunes... After reading that link, I might be able to jailbreak from there with blackra1n and make it boot?

    Thanks
     
  8. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #8
    You are not giving us enough to work with. I'd be happy to help, but you have to do your part. One and two word responses just aren't going to get us there. Exactly what have you done (in detail) and what were the results (in detail, including any error messages). What What you're giving us is like you're going to your mechanic and saying "my car isn't working." That's going to get you nowhere.
     
  9. MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #9
    ^ exactly..... Trying to diagnose and help people on MacRumors usually follow something like this ...


    Patient: Doctor I don't feel well
    Doctor: Ok sir, how so ?
    Patient: I don't know.....
    Doctor: Let me rephrase, are you hurting?
    Patient: I don't know....
    Doctor: Any discomfort?
    Patient: I don't know....
    Doctor: This isn't getting us anywhere, can you tell me any particular area?
    Patient: Not really....
    Doctor: Your head?
    Patient: I don't know....
    Doctor: Your stomach, your back ?
    Patient: I don't know....
    Doctor: How's the eyesight? Are your bowel movement's ok?
    Patient: I don't know....
    Doctor: Sorry sir, your not making this easy for me to help. Let me take some blood and run some tests?
    Patient: Take Blood ? Run Tests ? For a toothache ?
    Doctor: All right now were getting somewhere. So you have a toothache have you?
    Patient: Yes... Didn't I mention it earlier?
    Doctor: Aghhhhhhhh


    :D:D:D
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    Or it's:

    Patient: I tried the antibiotics and they didn't help.
    Doctor: You took the antibiotics for the whole week, like I prescribed?
    Patient: No, I took them all at once, since I figured I'd get better quicker.
    Doctor: Facepalm.
     
  11. hushmartin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    Kansas
    #11
    I'm actually having the exact same problem. My SHSH's were on file with Cydia, I followed Saurik's instructions for redirecting to that server. I was in DFU mode, tried to restore to 3.1.2, and.... Apple says that I can't restore to this firmware. Or something to that effect anyhow. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I edited the host file just like it said to do. The problem is obviously in the host file, but I don't see how. I did as it said.
     
  12. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #12
    Open Terminal (Mac) or a command prompt (Win) and type
    Code:
    ping gs.apple.com
    Tell us what IP address it pings.
     
  13. The Highlander thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #13
    74.208.10.49

    What I did?

    Edited the hosts file
    Put the phone in DFU
    Shift Restore
    Chose 3.1.2 313mb file
    Restore started... everything ok...

    After 60% of the apple boot with the progress bar icon, it just aborts and Itunes says error 1015.

    SHSH where on file.

    Have done it 4x no joy. I have to revert back to 3.1.3 in order to use the phone.
     
  14. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #14
    Sorry, hit enter too soon. Anyway, if you google that error number, many links pop up saying to ignore it and restore again. Try googling.
     
  15. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #15
    When downgrading your firmware you need to do it twice in a row, each time getting the 1015 error (the first time because the new firmware re-organized the NAND memory and it needs to be reformatted -- which the second install will do). Then run redsn0w to jailbreak it, which will also get you out of the boot loop. It clearly says all of this in Saurik's instructions. Read.
     
  16. The Highlander thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #16
    I did the restore 3 times in a row... didn't get ANY type of completion.. Hence why I posted.
     

Share This Page