Restoring from time machine backup

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by NikFinn, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. NikFinn macrumors 6502a

    NikFinn

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    MA
    #1
    I currently have a time machine backup of my macbook pro, but I will soon be acquiring a macbook air. If the backup is small enough to fit on my mba, can I just do a "restore from backup" with the time machine plugged in?
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Yes. Just use migration assistant when setting up your computer. :)
     
  3. NikFinn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NikFinn

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    MA
    #3
    Ahh I see that now. I was under the impression that the only way to do this was with the system install dvd. So if I were to do this it would basically give me a duplicate of my computer?
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    An exact clone.
     
  5. NikFinn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NikFinn

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    MA
    #5
    Cool, thanks. I was under the impression that it required lots of other shenanigans.
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    Nope. It just works.™ :p
     
  7. tsubikiddo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS
    #7
    Yea, just use the migration assistance and select restore from Time Machine backup

    however, if you have the CS4 suite or any component from it,
    you will need to re-install the whole program because the user account cannot be recognize and fail authorization checks ;)
     

Share This Page