Restoring Time Machine Backup (iMac) to a new MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Zwergpirat, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. Zwergpirat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #1
    Hey there,

    I got some problems when restoring my Time Machine backup to my new MacBook Pro.
    The Backup is from an iMac (with 10.8.2) which is sold and I bought a MacBook Pro instead so I want to restore the backup on it.

    The problem is when restoring it "stops" after aprox 6.5 hrs. I mean the computer just stops doing a thing. (I think so...)
    It says just under a minute till it's complete but that's here for more than two hours...

    this is how it looks like (in german)

    https://www.icloud.com/photostream/de-de/#A55oqs3qNTw74;AE269022-5BAA-4CAE-AC73-19E3FC3DA047

    I don't know If it's normal and I just have to wait a couple of hours or If it's unusual.

    I really hope you can help me!
    (and sorry for my rusty english + sorry If it's the wrong subforum)
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I think the problem is some of the newer Macbooks use a different version of 10.8.2 that you do not have on your iMac.

    What I would do it a command-r boot to recovery on the new Macbook. Once that starts use Disk Util to erase Macintosh HD then reinstall the OS from that same screen. It will take some time as the 4.7GB has to download.

    Once the OS is installed and the new OS starts, use Migration Assistant to bring in your data from the old Time Machine backup. This will just import your data and apps, and not the old OS.
     
  3. Zwergpirat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #3
    Well, this is exactly (kinda) I did it some hrs ago. I used the internet recovery intalling the OS to the new device. and within the first OS start i started the migration assistant. And this one is running now for more than 9.5 hrs. 3 hrs since it says "under one minute"^^
     
  4. mattyb240 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #4
    You should not restore from a time machine backup when switching machines, you should set up your user, and then use migration assistant. Hope this helps.
     
  5. Zwergpirat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #5
    I did before and this changed nothing. 6.5 hrs till waiting for having the computer the last minute done for hrs^^ (same as now)
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Hmmm... did you start Migration Assist right away after new OS install (you should)? You do not want to setup your user account, then try to use MA to import to that same account. It will make a mess with duplicate accounts.
     
  7. Zwergpirat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #7
    yep! (thats how I started it for this try which is running atm (for 10hrs now).
    I aborted the other way (starting MA after setting up the OS).
     
  8. Zwergpirat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #8
    So... after 22hrs of running... nothing changed :-(
     
  9. JackStack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    #9
    Worked for me

    Disable battery manager (and screen savers)
    Both OSs the same (10.8.2)
    Time machine backup of source (using 10.8.2)
    Migration assistant on Target selecting Time Machine Backup
    Took about two hours.

    #relieved - get to sell my 2008 and buy a 2012! Yay!:D
     

Share This Page