Restoring without updating?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by hassouni, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. hassouni macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #1
    I'm having problems with my screen and want to take my phone to Apple. I'm using a Blackra1n 3.1.2 JB 3GS....I've told iTunes NOT to update to 3.1.3, because as I understand it, this doesn't work for JBing?

    Anyway, obviously I need to restore my phone before I go to Apple, but the only option it gives wen I click "restore" is to "restore and update," in which "the newest version of the iphone software will be installed." in other words 3.1.3 right?

    How can I bypass this update?
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    If it's a 3GS, unless you saved your 3.1.2 SHSH thru Cydia, you can only restore to 3.1.3
     
  3. hassouni thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #3
    I'm not sure if I did the Cydia save thing when I first got it, and right now it won't save to Cydia. Upgrading to 3.1.3 kills any chance of unlocking, correct?
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    There should be a new unlock down the road. Nothing now though.
     
  5. hassouni thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #5
    In other words, I'm better off dealing with the problem and waiting till 4.0?
     
  6. sparrky macrumors 6502a

    sparrky

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Does this also apply to the 3G? I want to sell my unlocked 3G but obviously not with all of my info on it. I was going to restore it but will that force me to update to 3.1.3 as well?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Nope, with a 3G you can restore it to any firmware you want.
    With the 3GS theres a check before it lets you install any firmware on it.
     

Share This Page