restrictions in HD installation

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zoran, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. zoran macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Are there any restrictions on brand or so, in alternative HDs that i can mount on the MacPro HD bays? I mean can i buy any sata HD drive and mount it in any of the three remaining bays?
    Can it be a sata2 HD?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    It HAS to be SATA II. Anything SATA II and 3.5" works. Don't buy the Seagate 1.5TB drive. It sucks eggs and the firmware patch doesn't work.
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    Yes you can install any SATA/SATA2 drive inside your Mac. If you want to boot OS-X off it, be sure to format and partition it as Apple GUID since you have an Intel Mac.


    **Edit**
    I thought you can install a regular 1.5gbps SATA HDD in the MP?
     
  4. Horst Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #4
    Afaik, that's correct, I believe one of my drives is a non-II SATA.

    There are a few drives, like some Western Digital Raptor/Velociraptor models, which have the SATA ports in different places and won't fit in the MP's bays, but those are just a few exceptions.
     
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    What firmware patch?
     

Share This Page