Retina display is too nice

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mz100, Oct 12, 2010.

1. mz100 macrumors regular

I am a college student and lived in Chicago, and got great Sprint 3G/4G coverage.

However I go to school in Southern Indiana, and get absolute crap signal.
    My EVO Absolutely would not connect to the Universitys wifi consistently.
    Everytime the phone went into standby, the Wifi would disconnect, even though I would set it to not sleep.
    Anyway I sold it, used a flip phone, and bout the 4G iPod touch, and it was fricken amazing.

Long story short, I am switching to Tmobile, because Its much cheaper than At&T, and going to get an unlocked iPhone.
    I could not find a iPhone 4 under $500, which is expected, it is high in demand now, so I settled for a 3GS,
    And Now, the display just looks so bad.

Granted I have always liked the iPhone and the display, and after using the 3GS for a couple days, its getting easier and easier to use, but that retina display is simply amazing.

I have used Super amoled, and super LCD, and the Retina simply blows them out of the water.
    Anyone else downgrade to the 3GS and sort of regret it?

On a side note, the 3GS is FASSSTTT!
    I had one for about a month and had to return it, used the iPod touch 4G for about a month, and then went to the 3GS, in all honesty I cannot tell a speed difference.
    Even though the 3GS and iPod 4G both only have 256mb ram, compared to 512 in the iPhone 4.
    the iP4G has the A4.

2. jacollins macrumors 6502a

If you are in college, I think a smartphone should be the least of your worries.

3. Shorties macrumors 6502a

I agree with you that the retina display is a little too amazing. I still find myself every so often saying "wow" at the quality of text on it, even months after owning it. I just love it.