Retina display's future

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by walkie, Dec 27, 2012.

1. walkie, Dec 27, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012

walkie macrumors 6502

I'm planning on buying a rMBP and I would like to read your opinions on the retina display's fate, I see retina display will have a brilliant future and more support by developers only when prices drop, but since I'm a multiplatform developer I would like to see the other operating systems moving in the same direction, do you think Windows/Linux and PC makers will catch up with something similar to retina display in a near future?

2. mattopotamus macrumors G4

mattopotamus

I may be wrong, but I am pretty sure you can get "retina" style displays on windows PC's already.

3. treyjustice macrumors 65816

treyjustice

Up to the companies like Dell who make the computers. Doesn't Windows already support retina?

4. walkie thread starter macrumors 6502

I think is not the same high definition than retina, because you need software that can scale properly GUI elements and fonts, I have seen how Windows 8 scales and elements look a little fuzzy, It looks like it makes a kind of zooming over the GUI elements unlike MacOSX, it would require developers to rewrite/retouch most software on earth to make modern apps to look right on a ultra HD screen, I can't see this happening quickly on a Windows/Linux platform.

5. bill-p macrumors 65816

Proper DPI scaling has been in Windows for a while (since Vista or so), but the main problem was a lack of screens that would push the resolution up that high... at an affordable price range for the mass market. As a result, developers didn't bother, and save for the very specialized softwares, most will just scale texts well while having their images squished or scaled.