Retina iMac FaceTime camera switches off during call

Discussion in 'iMac' started by timothevs, Jan 5, 2016.

  1. timothevs macrumors 6502

    timothevs

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #1
    Has anyone had a similar issue where during a perfectly normal call, the FT camera just stops working? I know it is not a call quality issue - the camera light goes off, and if I am using FaceTime I need to call again to start the video. In Skype, I can usually switch the Camera off and on, during the call and that will restore the Video for a little while.

    I've tried the usual steps - clean install of El Cap, clearing the PRAM and SMC Resets, to no avail. It works fine for a few days after a reset but then we are back again.
     
  2. timothevs thread starter macrumors 6502

    timothevs

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #2
    Well, took it to the Apple Store, and they've replaced the FT Camera. Let's see if that fixes things. :/
     
  3. timothevs, Jan 8, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2016

    timothevs thread starter macrumors 6502

    timothevs

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    Got the iMac back from the Apple Store yesterday. How I wish I had turned it on in the store to examine it.

    Once at home - Ugh and double ugh. NOW, it it takes literally 11 minutes to boot. It just sits at the black screen for 7 minutes and then the Apple logo for another 4 minutes before I get to the desktop.

    Just so very disappointed in the work that they did. I called Apple Support, and they were more than willing for me to take it back for repair. But the store is an hour away, and I end up having to take time off work to go there, and then be without my main freelancing machine for days at a time. This just stinks. I have had many iMacs that have worked flawlessly, since the last real lemon.

    All of this and my iMac is less than 3 months old. How many repair attempts will they make? What does it say about the longevity of this machine?
     
  4. aussieinjapan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
  5. timothevs thread starter macrumors 6502

    timothevs

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #5
    Hm, seems odd. I don't believe mine was a software issue. I say "was" because I ended up getting a new iMac (2015) from Apple, after they tried to fix the issue and were unable to diagnose/fix the problem.

    This new iMac works perfectly, and has since day 1 (with the same pattern of usage). Which of course leads me to believe that it was a Hardware issue.
     

Share This Page