Retina iMac, is it possible to add 64gb of ram?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iMcLovin, Oct 4, 2015.

  1. iMcLovin macrumors 68000

    iMcLovin

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #1
    I have a Retina iMac with 32 gb of Ram. But I do experience my machine struggle slightly with ram when Im doing some of the heaviest jobs. Not a big problem, but if its possible to buy 4x 16gb of ram and get 64 GB its something that could be nice.

    ANyone know if the iMac would support that?
     
  2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #2
    The haswell CPU in that machine has a 32GB limit.
     
  3. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #3
    Nope, 32GB max. Perhaps you really need a Mac Pro.
     
  4. dcmontgomery macrumors newbie

    dcmontgomery

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
  5. jafingi macrumors 65816

    jafingi

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
  6. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #6
  7. Alesc macrumors 6502

    Alesc

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    France

Share This Page