Retina iMac keeps cutting out

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jordan eff, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. jordan eff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #1
    hi guys

    I have a 2015 5k iMac and the last couple of days it has been randomly cutting out and wont power back on unless i turn off the power at the wall and turn it back on. I thought maybe it could be the power socket so i tried a different one but it still cuts out

    But today it seems to happen everytime I use safari

    Any idea what could be the problem here before I contact apple

    Thanks
    Jordan
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    It should be new enough (unless you bought January 2015) to still be under the 1 year warranty. I would contact Apple. To have to unplug it in order power it back on definitely does NOT seem right.
     
  3. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #3
    Yes i bought it late March 2015 and it wasn't delivered till mid april
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Jordan, we can ask you several questions, and get you to try a couple of things, but honestly, it sounds like you have a hardware problem, which is now getting worse. It is likely a failing power supply, but could also be a logic board.
    If your iMac is less than 12 months old, then Apple will sort this out as a failure, and fix it at no charge to you.
    It's highly unlikely it is a software problem, but Apple will sort that out, too, as part of a checkout for service.
    In the unlikely event that it IS software only, then AppleCare will help you decide what to do, and you may not need to take it anywhere.
    Or, you will need to take to an Apple retail store - or an Apple Authorized Service Provider (AASP), if you have one close to you. If hardware needs to be replaced, it will be at no charge to you. It's your warranty - make use of it.
     
  5. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #5
    Thanks DeltaMac

    I was thinking it must be hardware related but i was hoping there may have been a solution before having to take it in since its not the easiest thing to carry about and its also mounted into the wall

    Thanks for the help
     

Share This Page