Retina iMac - Real Estate

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Verdenshersker, Jan 26, 2015.

1. Verdenshersker macrumors member

Hey,

I've got an offer about taking over a Retina iMac.
    I'm a graphic designer and even though Double Pixel Density looks good, I need real estate more.

I know that the native resolution is 5120x2880, but coming from a Retina MacBook Pro, I know they scale things.
    So here is my question.
    What is the highest scaled resolution equivalent to?
    And have anyone used SwitchResX to customize any resolution? If so, what is your settings?

The Retina iMac, I can get is basically the basic:
    3.5 Ghz i5
    16 GB 1600 Mhz
    1 TB Fusion
    R9 M290X 2 GB

I have to pay $1800, so I guess it is a fair price.

2. WilliamG macrumors 604

Think of it as 2560x1440 UI. There's no difference in that usable space than a regular 27" non-Retina iMac. Just that everything is exactly 4x as sharp.

Images in PS or LR etc are rendered at their native res, though, so you can fit a 4K image in there with all your dev tools intact.

You don't need SwitchResX, by the way. It's a 5120x2880 panel (you can hold the Option key while clicking on Display Preferences to display all the resolutions you can pick). 5120x2880 UI is far too tiny to be usable.

3. Verdenshersker thread starter macrumors member

Thank you so much.
    I knew it was as 2560x1440 UI if normal, but I thought there was some good inbetween resolutions of 2560x1440 and 5120x2280. Maybe something like a 3600x2000 or so. That will give me more real estate instead of density?

Also I have SwitchResX anyway :)

4. robgendreau macrumors 68030

Yeah, you can run 5120x2880 any time just like you would in the pre-retina days in "native resolution." The "best for display" just double sizes stuff with denser pixels.