Retina iMac: Will 1.5V RAM work?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by apfelmann, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. apfelmann macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    Hi Mac-Friends,
    I searched around, but didn't find a clear answer to this.

    I already have 8GB of 1.5V RAM at home (Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Non-ECC CL11 SODIMM)

    Will it harm my soon to be delivered imac if I try if this 1.5V RAM works properly?

    Greetings from Austria!
     
  2. Timan macrumors member

    Timan

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    #2
    Will keep you updated, installing 16gb of 1.5v ram (from a 2012 imac, that DID NOT work in a 2013 imac) in my 5k imac
     
  3. Timan macrumors member

    Timan

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    #3
    So my ram (G.SKILL 16GB (2 x 8G) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Laptop Memory Model F3-1600C10D-16GSQ) works when its the only sticks in the machine. Did NOT boot up (constant beeping) when it was mixed with the 8gb that apple ships with.

    At this time no crashing/kernel panics, will have to give it alot more testing though to see if its safe to keep in here.
     
  4. apfelmann thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #4
    Thanks!
    I want to mix with the installed, so I'll have to sell my 1.5V RAM and buy a new 1.35V RAM ...
     
  5. TerrorOFdeath macrumors member

    TerrorOFdeath

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #5
  6. TerrorOFdeath macrumors member

    TerrorOFdeath

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #6
    ./push

    No one ever tried RAM more than 1600MHZ on a iMac?
     
  7. Timan macrumors member

    Timan

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    #7
    Been 2 days now, pretty solid (would have had 50000 kernel panics on the 2013 imac by now). Thank god, saved me some money :p
     

Share This Page