Retina iMac: Win 7 or Win 8.1 for gaming?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by apfelmann, Nov 11, 2014.

  1. apfelmann macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    Hi,
    Would you recommend installing Win 7 or Win 8.1 for gaming via BOOTCAMP on the retina iMac?

    I like windows 7 more, but I thought maybe win 8.1 is better suited for the retina display as it is newer ...
     
  2. ymarker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    #2
    None of the above, you cannot game at a respectable frame rate at the native resolution on any os. This is a limitation of the gpu. Buy a seperate gaming device.
     
  3. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #3
    I thought I read that windows 7 wasn't supported on newer Macs with boot camp. Maybe that was just the Mac Pro.
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    *facepalm* I really doubt anyone is going to try to game at native resolution.

    OP is more than likely going to run the game at 720P or 1080P instead of full resolution.
     
  5. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #5
    No, that's wrong. See here:- http://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT5634

    ----------

    Really useful advice coming from the man with the Mac Mini.

    OP,

    I had to make that decision myself recently and I will be using Windows 8.1. If and when Windows supports 5k on the desktop I am guessing it will turn up on 8.1 before 7.
     
  6. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #6
  7. jbuk1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #7
    I guess I'm just imagining playing BF4 at UHD res at ultra settings at very playable frame rate.

    And I guess I was dreaming playing HL2 at 5k over the weekend, or maybe you have no idea what you are talking about.

    OP, Windows 8.1 is far superior to Windows 7. If you have both there is no reason not to go for Windows 8.1
     
  8. zarf2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #8
    agreed, I found windows 7 a pain to get running on the riMac, wheres 8.1 installed flawlessly. just make sure you install 'classic shell'.
     
  9. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #9
    With Win 10 looking pretty good so far for next year I concur with the going 8.1/classic shell for a start menu.

    Besides the Win 10 technical preview upgrades from 8.1 very seamlessly, leaving no possible nightmare scenarios upgrading it from 7 > 10 next year which may cause issues as 8 as installed using EFI and not legacy like 7..
     
  10. ilyasdesign37 macrumors member

    ilyasdesign37

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #10
    the new Retina iMac the graphics card isn't that good for gaming but for media etc
    it's perfect


    :rolleyes:
     
  11. paelzersebbi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Mainz, Germany
    #11
    Is it possible to install Win 8.1 on an external USB 3.0 or Thunderbolt drive?
     
  12. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #12
    No, not without using Winclone.
     
  13. paelzersebbi, Nov 12, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2014

    paelzersebbi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Mainz, Germany
    #13
    How does it work? - Nevermind.

    Does it only work with Win 8.x or also with Win 7?

    Can I clone a 60GB Boot Camp Partition to a 256GB external SSD and later change the 60GB Boot Camp partition to 256GB?
     
  14. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #14
  15. apfelmann, Nov 12, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2014

    apfelmann thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #15
    Thanks for the tips!
    I just installed windows 8.1 but one thing is strange:
    The screen brightness on windows is much lower than on Yosemite, even though it's turned to full brightness ...

    Any thoughts on this?

    EDIT
    I found the solution on apple disussions

    Zach_Nail
    May 10, 2014 10:12 PM
    Re: Windows 8.1 Brightness problems. Screen to dim.
    in response to Aaron21
    I've figured it out! It's so simple!

    It has to do with the adaptive brightness. Go into "More power settings," click on your current profile's "Change plan settings." Then click "Change advanced power settings."

    In the advanced window, scroll down to "Display" and click the dropdown. Then click the dropdown for "Enable adaptive brightness" and turn both "On battery" and "Plugged in" to off.

    Click apply and you're done!
     

Share This Page