Retina macbook memory soldered or user replaceable?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by webstersp, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. webstersp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #1
    Is the memory soldered in the new retina macbook pro? or will it be like the older macbook pro and user replaceable?
     
  2. Hidendra macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #2
    The retina pages say "onboard memory" while non-retina is just "memory" -- so most likely soldered on.
     
  3. ugahairydawgs macrumors 68020

    ugahairydawgs

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #3
    From the pictures they showed in the keynote it is going to be soldered on....which is a shame.
     
  4. houkouonchi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #4
    Super disappointed about this. I did not realize any of the macbook had soldered on memory (that seems so stupid) =(. Anyway I ordered my macbook like an hour after they were available (5-7 days to ship). Then i decide to look up on upgrading the ram (after already buying 16GB of DDR3 SODIM for $100) and then I find its not user upgradable.

    Then I see on the site it is 7-10 business days to ship now =(. Ok so I call to see if I can just modify the order. Nope... While on the phone I notice now its 2-3 weeks to ship. Oh well Not worth getting the extra ram that i didn't *really* need for 3 week wait. Sucky =(.
     
  5. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    now this really does change things for me. i was planning on upgrading later. bummer
     
  6. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #6
    No surprise. Apple has been headed towards a sealed unit for years. It's one way for them to increase profits & reduce customers from mucking up a job they're not qualified to do. Remember no matter how many of us are experienced with an easy job. There are those who screw it up then return it.
     
  7. faroukabad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #7
    I wonder how you troubleshoot when you have bad ram, if you can't take the modules out and test them one by one...guess you have to take it to the Apple Store.......$$$....or do it yourself if you know how to solder?
     
  8. iMusings macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #8
    You need SMD reworking equipment.

    Or simply to put it differently, let's just say you can't do it. You have no idea what memory controllers they use on board or what configuration the memory chips needs to be in.

    And where are you gonna buy memory chips anyway?
     

Share This Page