Retina Macbook - photoshop and lightroom

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Photogeek123, Aug 18, 2015.

1. Photogeek123 macrumors newbie

Is the retina MB powerful enough to use programs such as photoshop and lightroom?

As a pro photographer, my editing for clients will be done on my iMac. However for portability/travel/occasional edits, is the rmb ok or would I be better going for the 13mbp? EG, could it handle importing and storing 2000 25mb raw files if I was on a wedding overseas? I love the sleek look of the rMB, but am anxious it won't be powerful enough for me.

All opinions welcome.

2. chabig macrumors 68040

Of course it is. People used to run Photoshop on Macs in 1995. Today's computers are much more powerful.

3. Queen6 macrumors 603

Queen6

Owning 12" 13" & 15" Retina`s I would recommend the 13" rMBP, as much as the 12" rMB works for me (engineering) I feel it may not work so well for you. The Core M works best with short burst of activity allowing the CPU to ramp up massively, followed by a cooling period albeit short. Prolonged heavy usage will only result in throttling back to the base frequency or less, which is what I suspect will occur importing 2K images @ 25Mb per file.

The 13" rMBP has a lot more reserves and is still a highly portable solution, I find the Retina MacBook excels at being a business machine, being extremely "snappy" dealing with documentation, mail etc running proprietary engineering applications with ease. Best way to settle it would be to but both and return the one within the 14 day grace period.

Personally speaking the 12" MacBook is one of the very best Mac`s ever produced, equally my needs are specific and to coin a phrase niche. All the same if the rMB is not a revenue critical system then it will still work for you, albeit at a slower pace than the rMBP`s, likely another Pro photographer can chime in with a more specific advice.

Q-6

4. professional445 macrumors member