Retina MacBook Pro - 13" vs. 15"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Razzosinni, Jul 15, 2014.

1. Razzosinni macrumors member

Hi. I'm a college student and I will be buying a MacBook in the upcoming weeks. I can't hold out for the fall update, so I want to purchase it as soon as possible. I had a 2013 MBA, which was really light and got the job done (browsing the web, word processing), but I sold it because I couldn't stand the screen anymore. Having also an iPad and an iPhone, the resolution seemed mediocre.

I also want this MacBook to be my primary computer for years to come. I don't do professional work on it, I'm relatively a light user, but what bothers me the most is the fact that I may pick a configuration that won't handle future OS updates well. I don't want a computer that will get slow in about 2 years, especially considering the fact that I won't throw hard tasks at it.

What should I pick between the two of these? I initially thought about the 13" rMBP : 2.4GHZ Dual Core i5, 256GB SSD and 16GB of RAM - 1700$. But as I want this laptop to be my primary computer, I soon became interested in the 15" version : 2.0GHZ Quad Core i7, 256GB SSD, Intel Iris Pro, 16GB of RAM - 2200$.

Which one should be better? Could I actually go with 13", being given the fact that the screen estate on the MBA wasn't an issue for me? But I would also love a slightly larger screen. Will the quad-core make any difference in the long-run? What about the RAM?

2. AnorexicPig, Jul 15, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2014

AnorexicPig macrumors 6502

AnorexicPig

I was in a similar boat not too long, upgrading from my 2012 MBA because I was finding the screen hard to accept.