Retina Macbook Pro or 13" Macbook Air

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wordlessjam, Jul 31, 2012.

1. wordlessjam macrumors member

wordlessjam

Hey,

I'm a student studying civil engineering and I think I'm going to need a new laptop soon as mine seems to be slowly dying! Which do you think would be better the retina macbook pro or the 13" macbook air. I use software such as autoCAD and matlab. I also edit 1080p videos from time to time. I need a lot of hard drive space too as I have a look of stuff on it!

Any help would be great!

Thanks.

2. slantze macrumors newbie

Sounds like you need screen real estate....I would go with a 15" MBP. Of course you can always connect a 13" to an external, but if you are going to be on the move, you will appreciate the larger screen.

For your large files you'd just have to get the one with the bigger SSD drive.

One thing you might want to keep in mind is that AutoCad is still being optimized for Retina screens. Also the newer Retina Macbook Pros are not user-upgradeable. So I would also max out the RAM if you choose to go with the Retina models.

But even after all that, I would suggest you pick up a high-res 15" anti-glare MBP not Retina. You can configure to your hearts content with a large HD and you can upgrade your RAM easily yourself.

That will definitely get you through school and beyond, and you'll save some money too.

Cheers and good luck.

3. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

BornAgainMac

From a new Air owner, I recommend the rMBA. I saw one in person and it is worth every penny.

4. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

I would get a rMBA if they had one. Too bad they only have a rMBP.

5. foidulus macrumors 6502a

I would get the rMBP, but if your budget absolutely does not allow you to get the 256 gig model(I would upgrade the memory first), I would not worry too much about it, esp. if you might not fill up the 256 for another 6 months-a year