Retina Macbook Pro or Macbook Air

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by asukasuminoe, Jun 26, 2012.

1. asukasuminoe macrumors newbie

Hey, this is my first post on macrumors so please go easy on me. ^^;

Anyways, I'm in a desperate need of a new laptop. I'm a college student studying Graphic Design. I guess for this major, I'll be using a lot of programs like Photoshop and dreamweaver. I plan on taking a lot more graphic design classes in the future so I'll probably be using a lot more design related programs.

My current laptop is a HP G42 and it runs about 4000 something on geekbench which is horrible in my opinion. It has 4GB of RAM and has a i5 processor that runs at 2.53 Ghz. It runs programs like Photoshop with no problem, but I've been having too many problems with it. It overheats, has crappy battery life and it occasionally gets the BSOD.

For my next laptop, I've been thinking to switch to a macbook. This will be my first Mac so it'll probably take me some time to get used to. Here are my options:

1. Macbook Air 13-inch 128GB i5 1.8GHz Upgraded to 8GB of RAM

2. Macbook Air 13-inch 256GB i7 2.0GHz Upgraded to 8GB of RAM

3. Retina Macbook Pro 15-inch 256GB i7 2.3GHz 8GB of RAM (Lower End model or basically the cheaper rMBP)

Basically, here are my worries about the above laptops.

For Option 1:
    I'm afraid it's not strong enough to handle the tasks in my Graphic Design classes.

For Option 2:
    Same as my worries for Option 1. I'm also wondering if there's a big difference in the performance between the 13 inch i5 and the 13 inch i7

For Option 3: