Retina Macbook Pro VS Macbook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Masterfox72, Jul 31, 2012.

1. Masterfox72 macrumors member

So after being lulled in by my iPhone into getting an iPad, I have been extremely impressed by Apple's products. Recent work had me use Mac OS a lot and I have grown to like the OS a lot.

Therefore, as my current PC is in need of an update, I am looking to get my first Mac.

Pretty much my options have been narrowed down to two choices:

Macbook Air 2012
    8 GB RAM
    256 SSD
    i7 Ivy Bridge Processor

VS

Macbook Pro Retina Display
    16 GB RAM
    256 SSD
    i7 Quad Core Ivy Bridge Processor

I am a junior in college and a biochemistry major, and I use a few programs for research that will run on Mac and Windows, so that is no problem.

Normally, I use my computer for word and image processing, making presentations and general web surfing. As a student I take my laptop to classes and my current one is a monster 17 inch at around 10 pounds! Therefore something light would be ideal.

However, I also need some power as I am an amateur photographer and I do use Photoshop but not Aperature. I most likely will not do too much video editting, just a few quick snips taken off my iPhone (1080p) if that would tax the processor.

Battery life between these two devices seems comparable although first hand experience may be of more insight than expected values.

For me, the retina display is a bonus, not a necessity, I don't really need it, but it'd be nice. Also, I am coming from a 17inch so I dunno how much of a downgrade the Air would be in screen size.