Retina MBP HDMI input? Possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Panini, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. Panini macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #1
    Sorry if this question was a blatantly obvious answer, but I've looked around and can't find any mention of it.

    Is it possible for the rMBP to receive HDMI input to possibly act as a capture card of some sort?

    As far as I know, and HDMI cable can go both ways, so is this possible? HDMI in?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    While a HDMI cable can go both ways, most HDMI equipped devices only go one way. The retina Macbook Pro is only a source, not a sink of HDMI content.
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Not without some kind of "tuner" box that would feed it in through an actual input port (USB or Thunderbolt).
     
  4. Panini thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #4
    That's a bummer.

    If I got an HDMI to thunderbolt adapter then would I be able to get HDMI input since thunderbolt is I/O? Or would the cable only allow output?
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  6. flipnap macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #6
    i bought this and it simply converts the video signal on the fly and sends the final product into the macbook via usb. it will capture 1080p. i have no afiliation with them and am not trying to "sell it". i simply bought one and it works. plus its nice to not have the machine cranking away for hours encoding.

    http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hdpvr.html
     
  7. Panini thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #7
    I've looked into those before, but they're usually $200+

    I was just wondering if there's any way I could use thunderbolt or the HDMI port to my advantage so that I wouldn't have to invest in a capture card.
     
  8. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    No, you cannot.
     
  9. HurryKayne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #9
    Is it Hdmi port output just on Retina's Macbook pro?
     
  10. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #10
    pretty sure that none of the Macs have an HDMI port that is input/output; all are output only. HDMI input would have to deal with HDCP, which would be messy.
     
  11. Jugney macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
  12. dagamer34 macrumors 65816

    dagamer34

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #12
    The inevitable answer to the ultimate question is that any capture solution is never going to be good enough for gaming because of the delay caused by picture processing.

    Solution: buy a TV.
     
  13. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Only the iMac supports this functionality. It's called Target Display Mode, and works on the 27" iMac with miniDisplayPort and the iMacs with Thunderbolt.
     

Share This Page