Retina MBP Help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wiznet, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Wait - so judging by what I've been seeing here - you can't run at 2880 x 1800 on OSX? Or "native resolution"? Somebody help me out with this... what's the deal?

    Why would they advertise a resolution you can't even use? Or am I just taking things the wrong way ( long day ) ...
     
  2. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #2
    In all of the software scaled options, you're using all 2880x1800 pixels.

    The default option has the equivalent "real estate" to a 1440x900 display, but much sharper since you're actually running at 2880x1800. There are also options to increase or decrease the effective "real estate" through software scaling:

    [​IMG]

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/5998/macbook-pro-retina-display-analysis
     
  3. wiznet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
  4. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #4
    But the OP is right, the highest "classical" resolution is 1920x1200... you can not run it such that you get the work space of a 2880x1800 screen - except if you install windows on it ;)
     
  5. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #5
    Or disable HiDPI mode manually. That would give you 2880x1800 worth of real estate with tiny UI elements and text.
     

Share This Page