Retina MBP screen tearing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Compton, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. Compton, Jul 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012

    Compton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #1
    I'm experiences serious screen tearing (if that's the correct term) with the new rMBP. Here is an image of my screen: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/345710/photo.JPG

    The tearing starts pretty randomly. Sometimes every 5 minutes, sometimes it may take a couple of hours.

    I have previously used Retina Displaymenu V0.2 to enable the unscaled native resolution. I have stopped using the program and reinstalled Lion using the recovery part ion (retains user files and settings). The problem still persists. Any ideas? The screen can be cleared momentarily by using Expose to reveal the desktop; this appears to "wipe" the screen clear for a moment. A more permanent effect (5 minutes to few hours before the problem reappears) can be achieved by changing the resolution or by booting the laptop.

    I think that my only option is a complete reinstallation of Lion. It's hard to imagine that this would be hardware-related (?) because the screen can be cleared for a while by changing the resolution.

    UPDATE:
    The computer was in 2880x1800 mode when it woke from sleep and now I can't change the resolution anymore in System preferences -> Display settings! Haven't tried booting the computer yet but this is pretty worrying. Despite the reinstallation of the OSX the Retina Displaymenu V0.2 still appears to have some effect on the computer. Perhaps people should use the program with caution. I have updated the title of the thread accordingly.

    UPDATE 2: Problem apparently fixed by disabling automatic graphics switching in system preferences. Retina Displaymenu V0.2 not involved in the tearing problem. Still kind of weird that the computer returned to the 2880x1800 mode even when I had done everything possible (except clean installation of OSX) to remove the effects of the program.
     
  2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    Maybe a Video Card failure...
    Take it to Apple if it still continues.
     
  3. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #3
    Reinstall Lion, instal as few apps as possible and observe the system. If the tearing persists it`s likely your GPU starting to fail does the machine do this when relatively cool or when it has been on for some time and the system is hot
     
  4. minnus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #4
    Unfortunately, you can't rule out hardware. When you change your resolution, it basically re-initializes it, allowing the GPU to recover from whatever failure it had previously. It doesn't mean its hardware, it just means that it could be.
     
  5. daleski75 macrumors 65816

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    #5
    I'd take it back to the apple store as who knows even if the problem goes away upon a reinstall there is no guarantee it won't come back later on and cause even more issues.
     
  6. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #6
    Re-install is the quickest way to find out if its software.

    If it persists with a fresh install, you have a hardware issue.
     
  7. jimmypop236 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    #7
    Same issue with two different machines

    I am experiencing the same issue. Initially, I was using a base model rMBP and noticed the identical "tearing" after the computer would wake from sleep. This would sometimes even require a reboot to get resolved. I had a BTO on order so I did not bother with this issue too much. My BTO 2.7/16/512, arrived on Monday and it is doing the same exact thing as the computer wakes from sleep.
    Searching the web has been no help and have not seen any posts regarding this problem until now. Hopefully someone has an idea, it is hard to say that it is bad video cards on two completely different machines purchased at different times.
     
  8. CausticPuppy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #8
    Can you test it out with gfxcardstatus, and force it to use the discrete GPU to see if the issue still occurs?
     
  9. jimmypop236 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    #9
    just set it to discrete only, will post if it acts up again
     
  10. Compton, Jul 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2012

    Compton thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #10
    Installed bootcamp and ran 3DMark 2011 for a couple of hours in Win7. No problems whatsoever. The Intel HD 4000 isn't active in Windows so I'm also starting to suspect that the integrated graphics chip (or the drivers) is the culprit.

    Here is the list of software that I have running pretty much constantly in OSX. Haven't yet tried turning them off but will do it tonight:

    Alfred
    DropBox
    1Password
    Fantastical
    BetterSnapTool
    Neu
    nexTab
    TotalSpaces
    Evernote
    OmniFocus
    TypeIt4Me

    I have a BTO 2.6/16/512, almost the same configuration as Jimmypop's (BTO 2.7/16/512). Another similarity is that the screen tearing is also strongly (exclusively?) associated with the computer waking from sleep. I'm also pretty sure that have exactly the same problem.

    Please let me know, Jimmypop, if you take your laptop to an  service provider and hear what's causing the tearing. My repair shop is understaffed due summer holidays and I can't afford to lose the computer now for extended period of time due to occupational reasons.
     
  11. melterx12 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #11
    download gfxcardstatus and set it to nvidia graphics only and see if problem persists. then check integrated graphics chip.
     
  12. Compton thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #12
    The computer was in 2880x1800 mode when it woke from sleep and now I can't change the resolution anymore in System preferences -> Display settings! Haven't tried booting the computer yet but this is pretty worrying. Despite the reinstallation of the OSX (using the recovery HD option which retains user files and settings) the Retina Displaymenu V0.2 still appears to have some effect on the computer. Perhaps people should use the program with caution. I have updated the title of the thread accordingly.
     
  13. phyrexia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #13
    you should try to do a completely clean install, just to be sure.
     
  14. reRESERVEDMD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    #14
    EXACT same thing has been happening to me. Apple took it back no questions asked. I'd advise you do the same.
     
  15. Compton thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #15
    Could you clarify? Just the symptoms were the same or did the symptoms start when you started tinkering with the resolution with a third party application?

    I have 5 days left to return the computer within the "no questions asked" 2 week period. However, I would just like to find out whether I caused the problems myself through the use of the resolution modifying programs.
     
  16. reRESERVEDMD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    #16
    I just woke it up from sleep few days ago and the screen went black, started flickering, and then did all of this witchcraft...

    [​IMG]

    AMEN!
     
  17. Compton thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #17
    Is it possible that the problem is related to SOFTWARE rather than HARDWARE? If I could fix the software problem then I wouldn't have to wait two or three weeks for a replacement. Could it be that I have been finding this out all the time? So you can still **** off.

    The problem was fixed by disabling automatic graphics switching. I try turning it on again once ML (or a rMBP software update) is released. If it still doesn't work, I'll take the computer to a repair shop when replacement units are more readily available.
     
  18. daleski75, Jul 8, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 8, 2012

    daleski75 macrumors 65816

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    #18
    There is a guy from the UK who is getting theirs replaced and they are collecting his old rMBP is 3 business days and shipping out a new rMBP in 3 to 5 business days on a high priority order so no harm in phoning up Apple to see that they can do for you.
     
  19. thekev, Jul 8, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 8, 2012

    thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #19
    The issue doesn't sound like an overloaded OS, and it's not like Windows where bloated registry might actually mean something. That's one of the things I thought they would address by now, but it may be a complex issue.

    If it is the HD4000, you may end up with an eventual logic board replacement. They use both new and refurbished parts on warranty repairs. Personally if it's such a thing this early I'd prefer a new computer. Now what I don't understand is that you bought something for occupational reasons without keeping the old one while you test it? I'd always suggest making sure the new one is okay before ditching the old one. This goes double with a first generation product.


    So you have no backup computer? Your old one broke or you already sold it off to pay for the new one? I know everyone always tries to get as much as possible for their comp, but it can be a bad idea. I usually stress test and memtest whenever I get something new.
     
  20. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #20
    Looks like the diodes have reversed direction. It can happen.
     
  21. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #21
    May be an incompatibly with an app, or the driver, gfxCardStatus can help to isolate if it`s the integrated or discrete GPU, fewer app`s on the system will make easier work of isolating the issue. I wonder if anyone on ML is seeing this issue.


    Either GPU and it will be a new Logic Board minimum.


    I always run a backup system, the Retina MBP is so far out there it`s almost "fringe" non of it`s technologies are startlingly new, however no one else has put them in the same box, and a small one at that. It will be sometime before I run my rMBP as primary, for now it will "ghost" my 2011 MBP, let ML roll out and some app`s catch up. This being said so far so good I am not seeing any issue`s with the rMBP
     
  22. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #22
    If the process isn't running, it shouldn't affect anything. Activity monitor or top in terminal can indicate any running processes. Many things can be adequately uninstalled via deleting the application and possibly searching for remnants. A few things require clean scripts. If you kill anything unnecessary, you should be able to check it that way without having to reinstall the OS this soon. I have seen the persisting windows due to software bugs before.

    Yeah I worded it poorly. Hardware issue = logic board replacement. If it's having hardware issues this early, I'd rather get an exchange.

    These are also my thoughts. I'm not sure I'll even get one in the future. Right now I have a 2011 MBP and an old mac pro. The new display looks nice, but I'd never be able to spend all of my time on the notebook display. It's used when I can't use an external display. It's just that I don't use it that way for hours at a time. If I have to do any serious work, it's too big of a hit on efficiency to attempt it on a laptop display. I kind of wish Apple would implement some calibration features for maintaining long term stability. I mean some kind of LUT based system like you have with NEC. Anyway I agree with you. It's best to have something that is fully stable before making it your primary computer.
     
  23. Compton, Jul 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012

    Compton thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #23
    Only a desktop computer and I needed portability due occupational travel. I guess I need to consider purchasing a Macbook Air as a backup laptop.

    Still zero problems with automatic graphics switching turned off and battery life is not a problem because I have an external battery (Hyperjuice 150 Wh). I will just wait until I see the effect of Mountain Lion on the screen tearing and, if necessary, have this thing repaired when the replacements units are readily available and I don't need to travel anymore.

    Battery life is pretty good even though I have forced the system to only use the dedicated graphics card. I get approximately 6 hours of running time while on medium display brightness, WiFi turned on, iTunes running and using a word processor. I was expecting much worse battery life.

    The issue is settled with me. Over and out.
     
  24. GCWB, Jul 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012

    GCWB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #24
    Add me to the list.

    I'm getting this too... happens maybe twice a day. Only a restart will fix. I guess I'll follow this thread for the next few days to see what happens. I'm still setting up my rMBP and all the configurations I need. It's taken me a few days already... Importing lightroom catalogs, updating all my software, registering everything and importing important files from my previous mac.

    I seriously hope it's not software... as to find out the issue would drive me wild. I have a decent amount of software running at one time.

    Here's my list.
    (pretty much constantly)
    Little Snitch
    Dropbox
    TotalFinder
    Camouflage
    Captur
    Boombox
    Caffeine
    Google Chrome
    Apple Mail
    Spotify.

    (And less regularly, but still daily. I have open.)
    Adobe Photoshop.
    Adobe Lightroom
    Steam
    Final Cut Pro X

    I hope to god I don't need a replacement system, as I have a BTO (think thats the term) custom configured to the max and I love it. Took 3 weeks to arrive... eurgh. When it happens again I'll note down the applications that were running and take one off (starting with my applets, as they don't cause such as significant impact to my workflow) to see if over the next week we have an offender.

    EDIT: anyone have any idea if a screen recorder would capture this? Or would it have to be an external recording?
     
  25. rjg125 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    #25
    I had this issue the first time I ran Carbon Copy Cloner to backup one of my external drives connected to the rMBP. I also share the mouse and keyboard between my Mini and the rMBP using Teleport. The mini is sharing the mouse/keyboard so when CCC was running and I would move the mouse over to the rMBP screen, the tearing would begin. This was only happening if CCC was running. So just posting this so you know that it could be a software issue. In my case I determined the problem instantly as it had never happened until CCC launched and my mouse entered the screen of the rMBP. It's never happened again.
     

Share This Page