Retina or Standard MBP for me?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by modelbehaviour, Jun 15, 2012.

1. modelbehaviour macrumors 6502

Yes, I know. Another one of these 'help me decide which MBP to buy' threads. Sorry in advance!

Basically I'm a student with a year left at university. My main uses for a laptop are internet, word processing and holding/watching a lot of movies/music (around 106GB all together) which I put onto my iPad. I don't do video editing but I occasionally do basic photo editing. I'm not too worried about portability but would like to be able to carry it across campus now and then without my arm falling off which it does with my current MB!

I currently have a 13" 2007 white Macbook with a 2.2 Ghz intel core duo, 4GB RAM (upgraded from 2GB) and a 120GB hard drive. In short, I'm trying to decide whether to buy the top end 15" 'old' MBP or the base model Retina.

I love the new design/screen and the idea of a speedy SSD, but the 256GB hard drive worries me as I get annoyed at my current 120GB which is constantly full (though I do have a portable 500GB external drive). I would need to buy an external disc drive but that doesn't worry me since I only use it for ripping DVD's now and then using handbrake. I'm also kind of worried about not being able to upgrade it (although I guess I wouldn't need more than 8GB RAM for my uses?) and the scroll lag everyone is talking about - although I don't know if that'd affect me since I'd only use it with the default screen resolution?

The 'old' MBP is still a massive improvement on what I have now and the 750GB HD sounds amazing, but I worry the design will be outdated too quickly as I intend to keep whatever I buy for roughly 4 years.

Long story short, help?!

2. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

charlieegan3

1st off everyones situation is different so don't worry about asking.