Return my MacBook Pro for new 2.4 MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by aahhple, Mar 1, 2008.

1. aahhple macrumors newbie

So I have never thought to do this until apple released its Update Tuesday for the MacBook.

Seems like the midrange 2.4 ghz MacBook is now faster then my base model 2.2 ghz MacBook Pro I bought 1 week ago. I have found myself debating if i want to exchange it or not.

I am a freelance graphic designer and besides some occasional cs3 I have found myself only using my MacBook Pro to surf the web, email, and listen to music. I am also a full time student and I feel like the MacBook would best fit my needs with its portability.

The screen on the MacBook is obviously not cut out for graphic design but I would eventually get an external display if the time comes where I do graphic design full time.

I love my MacBook Pro it just seems like I can save some money (get an iphone!) and purchase the new updated MacBook.

I would also be upgrading the hard drive on the MacBook to 250gb and upgrading the ram to 4gb.

What do you think?

2.2 ghz 'Santa Rosa' 15inch MBP 120gb HD

or

2.4 ghz Macbook 250gb HD and iPhone

2. MacFanBoyIIe macrumors 6502

Sounds like the MacBook would better serve your needs for less price and be more portable. Bottom line, do what works for YOU. I know someone who uses a 1.8GHz 2GB RAM MacMini to run his home office, podcasts, video editing, and file serving. Do what works for you.

3. MightyBrutus macrumors newbie

I say go for it if you're sure the smaller screen is okay for you.

4. peterx macrumors newbie