Return or keep my C300 128GB for Intel 320?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kdoug, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #1
    I reordered a 13" i5 with Apples 128GB SSD. My plan is to put that drive into the optical bay and put the C300 in the Sata III position. Problem is, newegg will take it back with no restocking fee as long as I don't open the box. I paid $200 last week for it when it was on sale. It seems like people are having real good luck getting the Intel 320 to work and no issues. I'd love to keep the Crucial if I positively knew it would work. From what I've been reading, the 256GB C300 has been more of a problem than the 128GB. Looking for some advise.........
     
  2. kdoug, Apr 10, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2011

    kdoug thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #2
    Well, I ended up purchasing a new, Kingston SSDNow V+100 128gb. I got a terrific deal from somebody who had a new sealed for $159. Not bad since Newegg is charging $230. The main reason is it uses the same onboard Toshiba controller that Apple used on their SSD's so it performs as well to slightly better. Has built-in garbage collection like Apple's SSD and doesn't require firmware updates. Obviously not as fast as some of the SATA III's but I'll take compatibility and reliability all day long.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...item=&sspagename=STRK:MEWNX:IT#ht_1262wt_1141

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4010/kingston-ssdnow-v-plus-100-review/1

    http://www.kitguru.net/components/h...guide-kingston-ssdnow-v100-64gb-review/all/1/

    http://www.rwlabs.com/article.php?cat=&id=402&pagenumber=1
     
  3. titans1127, Apr 10, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2011

    titans1127 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #3
    I bought the C300 during the sale last week and absolutely love it. Even though I have a 2011 13'' i7 it still feels like a brand new computer. No hibernation problems and it sleeps just fine when I close the lid or choose it from the apple logo at the top. It also wakes just fine as well. Sleeping on its own seems to be hit or miss as it will either take longer than the settings indicate or it won't at all. I would like to remedy this but its really no big deal to me. I also disabled hibernation as I have 2 chargers as Apple let me keep my original when I had my first MBP replaced so its rare for me to fun out of juice and I could use that 8 gigs of space back with space being limited.

    Mind you I restored from a Time Machine backup of my stock 500gig HD which is now in an external enclosure

    I'd say keep it.
     
  4. kdoug thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #4
    Thanks for your reply but I don't think I'm going to take a chance. The Kingston SSDNow V+ has a history of working well on MBP's because of the Toshiba architecture. As I said in another thread, I'll sacrifice a little speed for a little sanity.
     

Share This Page